Opportunity to share our home and help with a sustainable life in Tuscany

Country

Italy

Favourited 159 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    25
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/06/2020

 
  • Description

    Description

    We are an Italian/English family of four running a six hectare organic farm producing olive oil, fruit & vegetables, eggs and wine outside the southern Tuscan village of Cetona (Siena).
    Suzie is here full-time with our two children, Nicolai 13 and Francesca 6, and our two dogs, Mora and Luna, whilst Papa' Antonio is often away traveling in connection with his environmental work.
    We work hard and have fun in this very beautiful and special place. There's a lot going on, we just need a bit of help help getting it all done. We promise you a potentially life-changing experience!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    From September to December we are looking for someone with a driving licence to help Suzie with the school run, children's activities, food preparation, general help around the house and the farm-whatever needs doing. English, French or Italian speaker would be ideal.
    September sees our first small grape harvest, and we'll be making our first wine!! And it's walnuts time, and delivering our organic vegetable boxes.
    October is the olive harvest, plus our first Gastronomy tour with 10 tourists visiting from the UK. And it's time for mushrooms and chestnuts.
    November, time to start selling the olive oil and preparing for Christmas baskets...
    December and the Christmas markets...never a dull moment.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can offer a guest bedroom and bathroom in our home.
    And in your free time there's plenty to see and do in the surrounding area from hiking to spas, from art to music, whatever you are interested in...we are remote but you'll have access to a (stick) vehicle.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a WWOOF host farm and have successfully hosted 40 wwoof volunteers over the last 3 years to help us with the farm work. We are a warm, welcoming and hospitable family and enjoy having the opportunity to share our home and life with young people from all over the world.
    We are looking to realize a sustainable existence here. We are flexitarian, eating meat and fish in limited quantities. We are passionate about food which where possible is local and organic. We have founded a Purchasing Collective (a G.A.S.) and try to buy the food we don't produce ourselves from other local organic farms.
    We sell what we produce directly to the end consumer and attend a number of markets.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two


Host ref number: 989894761756