Live in the mountains, far from modern world mentality, in a close contact with nature. Piedmont, Northern Italy.

Country

Italy

updated  

Favourited 121 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    64.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Andrea, I live in Valchiusella, a valley located in the Alps from Piemonte region, near Val d’Aosta, Gran Paradiso National Park and the city of Turin.
    I’m a musician (into experimental music and soundtracks) and I run a little no profit independent music label. I’m a secondhand records and books street dealer. I live with Lau, a 12 years old dog, in an isolated house surrounded by a quite wild wood, reachable only by walking for less than ten minutes. The trail starts from the charming and decaying abandoned village of Chiara and then continues immersing in the wood through an old stone mule track. For the transport of heavy materials the house has a self-built cableway.
    The house, built in wood and stone around 1900, is divided into two sections : the housing part, in excellent condition and already livable, the barn and the stable thet need a renovation. The land of one and a half hectares is terraced, one part suitable for the gardens, the remaining guarantees the subsistence for winter heating through the recovery of woods but also for the collection of chestnuts, mushrooms and wild herbs.
    Inside the property there are 3 small waterfalls with pools.
    I decided to live in this place to learn as much as possible from the wood, the mountains and the animals that live here. Trying to refine respect and attention to everything that surrounds me.
    I love company and sharing but also moments of solitude and silence, therefore I require Workawayers a certain amount of autonomy.
    I’m interested to experimenting in construction and renovation through materials mostly recycled and waste or recovered directly from the forest, my attitude is probably not so professional but creative and devoted to the art of "do it yourself". The most imminent projects are the renovation of the barn / stable, the cleaning/renovation of the attic, the cleaning of the wood, wood stores for the winter, prepare the ground for the gardens, construction of a shed in front of the house and other small wooden buildings like outdoor kitchen, sauna near the stream, chicken coop (and eventually other animal shelters - without exploitation purpose) a small cottage for guests ...
    I’m interested in deepening knowledge about the garden and recognition of wild plants, so all the workawayers with these skills or who want to learn with me are welcome.
    ps
    My English isn't very good : )

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You could make a real experience about how to live in the mountains, far from modern world mentality, in a close contact with nature.

  • Help

    Help

    A minimum of adaptability and practicability is required, considering a daily constant relation with nature and a lack of comfort normally expected.

    GENERAL TASKS:

    - wood management, garden...
    - participate in the household duties (cleaning, cooking, etc.)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a private guest room, on the first floor of the house, with two beds, heated with a wood stove.
    the accommodation includes vegan only meals.

    STUFF YOU NEED:
    -sleeping bag
    -good hiking/working water proof boots
    -warm clothes
    -working clothes
    -head lamp
    -water proof/wind proof jacket
    ++ Please don’t bring chemicals soaps and detergents.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will have two free days a week that you can spend at the river, hiking, rock climbing or simply chill at home, meet and spend time with my friends around the valley. You can also easily reach the city of Ivrea and from there, in around one hour of train, go to Turin or Milan.

    HOW TO GET MY PLACE: you can reach Ivrea by train and then take a cheap bus to Traversella, my village. . It starts directly at the train station in Ivrea and can leave you at the bus stop where I can pick you up (I can send you the timetable if you need it). For more information please contact me in advance and please try not to arrive on a Sunday .

    Sometimes, if I have a car in that time, I go to Ivrea so I can directly pick you up at the train station.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

to get home
workaway at work
self-built boiler
Lau at the pool
terraces in front of the house
accommodation for workawayers



Host ref number: 988218259857