Outdoor tasks in the beautiful Blue Mountains National Park in NSW Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 31 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/04/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our home is set around the native bushland on a large block of land. We have a two story house wth a massive backyard. The area is peaceful, attracts many fit people jogging past and riding to the lookout. My partner is skilled in many of the building tasks he undertakes around our property but needs help, or someone who can just get on with the tasks whilst he is at work. We ideally would like a person who is physically strong and doesn’t mind getting their hands dirty when outside. In saying that, domestic help is also a quality we like, maybe a project like painting outdoor furniture or sorting something around the house. We are strictly non smoking family.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are 2kms from fantastic mountain bike tracks and bushwalking all around us. We also have a heated spa after a hard days work and bicycles are available for riding a few trails. We have lived in the Blue Mountains for much of our lives and know much about the cultural and natural history of our landscape.
    We have two children who are fun and friendly, a pug named Molly and a bunny named Pekachu and a Grandma (Nanna Maz) who lives downstairs with us. We love seeing the Blue Mountains, visiting places and know a lot about local history. I love art and I’m an art teacher and ceramicist, my partner is a Fireman and keen cyclist. The kids both play soccer (football) on the weekend, one plays basketball, and is very musical playing in the Blue Mountains Youth Band. Our son is funny and loves bike riding and eating apples and has just started his new adventure at big school.

  • Help

    Help

    Hi we live in the beautiful Blue Mountains National Park in NSW Australia. We live in an area surrounding by bushland. We require assistance and skills in landscaping - weeding, mulching, or even the assembly and building a bush cubby house. Clearing the backyard, paving, moving dirt, wall building, general maintenance. On hot days, some help with the runnings, cleaning of the household as well.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our house is very large (6 bedrooms). You would have your own room. We have a large kitchen. With our kids, we eat mostly around 6pm, but after school activities can change that from day to day. You would be able to get your own breakfast and lunch, or go to town to a cafe. If you like you can eat with us or at a time that suits you. Our family has 3 Coeliacs so we always eat Gluten Free, but there's a place in our kitchen for Gluten food as well. We have ducted heating for the colder months and fans for the summer. You will share a large bathroom with one person and their is a separate toilet and a laundry access is downstairs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Mountain Biking is huge, nature trails - lots of those, local indoor swimming pool, town centre a 6 minute drive, half hour walk or catch the bus ( bus stop is 5 minutes walk near the high school). The Mountains trains run hourly up and down the mountains. I am arty and part of many community creative groups . Loads of cafes in the local village with great food of every type.
    We have a busy routine during the weekdays with kids. My partner is a Fireman and works shift work so has many days at home, which he uses to do work, build things, landscape around our bush block etc which he needs help with. He’s always up for a Bike ride as well.

    We don’t expect you to hang around and wait for us to eat at dinner time, we are happy to work with you, just let us know if your eating in for dinner. Please feel free to Join us for dinner.

    My kids are quiet but our boy does like to run and jump, he has loads of energy but is fun and happy ( no tantrums here). My daughter like her tweenager space so she’s generally quiet as well.
    We have an office with another TV to be installed shortly, with two lounges to hang out in if you like to relax and like some quiet down time, we also have an amazing view from our back deck where you can chill and a hammock on the front deck.

    If not working outside, we would love some house work jobs done, our house is really big as you will discover. Cleaning etc.

    The area is very quiet, and that’s what we love. The sounds of the birds in the morning are most welcoming. Our neighbours either side are quiet and we have no Neighbours across from us or behind us. ( all native bush).

    We have quiet evenings, depending on the day, our little one goes to bed early but he is a good sleeper. Most nights spent on social media, working in the ceramic studio, helping the kids play or do homework or getting organised or flaking out to watch Netflix.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The view from the street
Looking up to the house from the backyard
View from the Spa and Firepit area
The back deck
Our land
Host ref number: 986882282775