House-sit for us this August and experience rural life in our beautiful farmhouse in Limousin, France

Country

France

Favourited 174 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/11/2021

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Sue and Paul and spent 3 years renovating our home in France, an old farmhouse with barns and large garden. We have 2 sheep, chickens and 2 dogs: Jack the Border Terrier and Monty the Australian Berger/Griffon cross.

    The work is:
    Sheep - check and refill water
    Chickens - Open coop mornings/close coop evenings and refill food and water every 3 days.
    Dogs - walk twice a day, one long and one short walk, feed.

    The house is quite rural, about 4.5km from two towns. There are 3 bikes available to use.
    Very large lake nearby - Lac de Vassiviere.
    Internet access is good and unlimited.

    The accommodation is a fully equipped, comfortable apartment attached to the house.

    Sitters would also have use if the house if needed. Stay could be extended either way if needed or to help with work.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in small, friendly hamlet and have both English and French friends. We play boules regularly, in the village, with our French and English neighbours.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Taking care of house and animals.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double apartment. Comfortable and fully equipped. Also use of main house if needed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We will provide 3 meals a day and accommodation in return
    Accommodation is of a very good standard. We have unlimited wifi, however reception can be variable in very bad weather and has to be disconnected if it's stormy.

    We are British but do mix with our French neighbours in the area so there will be some opportunities for improving your French.
    Please feel free to ask any questions with no obligation.

    I'm not very good at the selling of this but your help would be appreciated and you would get a real idea of living in rural France.

    Thanks for taking the time to read this listing.
    Sue

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours per week













Host ref number: 9866443234c2