Come here and we will show you around this wonderful area and help you with your Spanish! Logroño, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/12/2019

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello Workawayers! Welcome to Logroño, main city in La Rioja, North of Spain! My name is Amaya, and I am a mother of an 8 years old girl and a 6 years old boy (Emma and Liam). I lived in London for quite a long time, and in 2015 I moved to this lovely city, along with my 2 kids. Living at the heart of La Rioja, you will find lots of interesting places to visit (including wineries) and amenities, and if you like hiking, running and being in touch with nature, this is definitely your place! We would be more than happy to show you around on weekends and do a bit of tourism.
    At the moment I work full time, which means I need a bit of help in the afternoons to look after the kids and take them to the after school activities. They both are fluent in English and Spanish, but I would prefer you to speak to them solely in English, as they get enough opportunities to practise their Spanish throughout the day! ;) However you can speak to me in Spanish if you wish to practise a bit. Occasionally I may need to ask you to help me out a bit with the housekeeping, but your main duty would be to look after the children.
    I follow a vegetarian diet, but my kids don’t. My son has some food allergies (nuts, eggs and fish) so if you eat any of these foods I would ask you to be extra clean so as to avoid cross contamination.
    We live in a 3 bedroom flat with 2 toilets, so you will have your own room with Wireless Internet access. We are non smokers. During the week there is no drinking in the house, and because of the nature of the help, no visitors at any time either.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In exchange for your help, we will be delighted to show you around this wonderful area and help you out with your Spanish! There are plenty of places we can visit on weekends which are easily accessible by car (we will drive you there), as long as you are happy to! We could also help you meet people from other countries, as there is a growing community of exchange students and Au-pairs in this area.

  • Help

    Help

    You will need to pick up the kids from school every day at 4 pm in order to take them and pick them up from their after school activities, and then basically keep them busy until I get back from work! There may be times when you may need to take them to school in the morning, as I may be working early, but altogether you will not work more than 4 – 5 hours a day from Monday to Friday.
    This is the first time I use Workaway, hence I have no ratings yet...hoping you will be my first one! :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a 3 bedroom flat, but because the kids share a room, you will have your own private room. There are 2 toilets with shower and internet access via wifi. No pets. Meals can be provided. Although I follow a vegetarian diet and my son has some allergies I am sure we can work something out!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many wineries in the area which offer different types of visits. Easy access to bus and public transport from the house, although the city center is 15 minutes walk.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 986584531418