Helping out on a farm near Toowoomba

Country

Australia

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/07/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    569

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Christian family, we had 9 children but 6 of them have left home and one was tragically killed in an accident with a horse.
    We have a small mixed farm with sheep, cattle, and cropping. Also some chooks and ducks. My wife also has a large country garden and vegetable garden. So we can have quite a variety of different things to do. We are never bored wondering what to do, rather where do we start. We live about 40 minutes from the garden city of Toowoomba.
    You don't need to know anything about farming but as long as you are happy to give everything a try and your best effort then we are more than happy to have you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Visitors will experience Australian country living and farming practises.

  • Help

    Help

    As this is a farm the work is seasonal and will vary from maintenance to fencing to building to working with animals. Also there is always gardening and cooking to be done.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a bedroom for visitors or an outside building and shared bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are close to the city of Toowoomba which has a variety of parks and gardens to enjoy. We are also less than an hour from a rainforest mountain area.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 985242366559