The Beautiful Rural Nova Scotia Experience, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 46 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Dylan; I am from Tatamagouche Nova Scotia. I enjoy running my business and growing it at a sustainable pace.
    I enjoy BJJ, hunting and spearfishing, sailing and Catan.

    Franzi; Super smart beautiful German lady who is doing her PhD in Political Science. An avid Hiker and Climber, Franzi had our first daughter Luna in January 2019, and has been known to threaten people with apple crisp.

    We gained access to a beautiful spot of land of 11 acres, right by the Ocean, about 30 minutes from Halifax and now we plan to make it awesome with YOUR help. We aspire to own a pig, cat, dogs, goats and a baby crocodile. We plan to set up a beautiful garden and a chicken coup. We want to cut down trees and develop the land and use land the land as much as possible to live a sustainable, healthy and environmentally friendly life.

    Our place is made for workaways. We love hosting people, Franzi loves to prepare big meals and settle down with a book by the fire at night. The space is quite big to do your own thing or all hanging out and watch a movie or head to the Falls for an offseason dip. We are looking for someone who is easy to be around and loves to go on adventures and hang out with our little nugget.

    Our freezer is full of Deermeat and our pantry full oh homebrew beers. At this moment in time, we are not equipped to accommodate dietary restrictions. We eat organic and local and hunt venison in the Fall, which is our main source of protein.

    We will do our best to get you into town or doing some interesting stuff a couple times per week. The 30 hours of work can be applied in in any form, though normally 6 hours per day, 6 days a week.
    Example of an average day with our first workaway;
    morning; work for 1 hour painting, breakfast, 2 hours more painting, go for a drive to the beach, city, horse farm etc,
    back later in the day for 3 hours of cutting wood painting etc. end the night with beer and board games by the fire.
    We are happy to accommodate your wished and talents. Any visions and personal input into for the space is welcomed.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Franzi Speaks French, German, English and Spanish and a little Japanese
    I (Dylan) speak English and some German.
    You could benefit linguistically. You can also have a variety of cool things to tend to and know that each day will offer something different.
    Learn some wood working, Gardening (In the spring)

  • Help

    Help

    In the Winter we mostly require child care for our little nugget (one year old). Occasionally you may need to bring wood in, shovel etc. If you are there in the spring months there will be some garden prep to be done.
    If you have a car it's a huge asset. If you don't have one.. consider getting one! :)
    We have one, but you will want your own.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own room. bed, lamp, dresser etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are really easy to live with. No egg shells here.
    We keep a productive pace however we will play catan by the fire with beer.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Lots of room and spots for a campervan with privacy

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Doggos welcome

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    30 hours week



Host ref number: 984897149957