1 / 5

Looking for help in the garden, growing vegetables and renovation in Chalabre, France

  • Favourited 31 times
  • Last activity: 26 Mar 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I have a beautiful garden in the middle of a medieval bastide village, Chalabre, in the foothills of the French Pyrenees. There is also an old unrenovated house on the site and a small house from the 1960s, my house. The garden is extensive and we seek to create a sustainable haven and grow organic vegetables and fruit. The work has already started and there is continual maintenance and work to be done. In my house, several rooms need to be decorated, there is sanding to be done and stripping of wallpaper. I have an old stone house where I would like to do some work to maintain it for the winter, help restore the stone walls and protect the wooden floors. I have two dogs - a black Labrador, Obi, and a miniature wire-haired dachshund, Plum. We are preparing for the second River Summit and Festival in the Village in September, an environmental event to celebrate the rivers with a summit of international speakers, wild food, fly fishing and cooking over a fire. I tried to learn French as fast as possible, but I would like French speakers to join me to help me take it to the next level.
    =================
    J'ai un beau jardin au milieu d'un village bastide médiéval, Chalabre, dans les contreforts des Pyrénées françaises. Il y a également une ancienne maison non rénovée sur le site et une petite maison des années 1960, ma maison. Le jardin est vaste et nous cherchons à créer un havre de paix durable et à cultiver des légumes et des fruits biologiques. Le travail a déjà commencé et il y a continuellement de l'entretien et du travail à faire. Dans ma maison, plusieurs pièces ont besoin d'être décorées, il y a du ponçage à faire et du décapage de papier peint. J'ai une vieille maison en pierre où j'aimerais faire quelques travaux pour l'entretenir pour l'hiver, aider à restaurer les murs en pierre et protéger les planchers en bois. J'ai deux chiens - un labrador noir, Obi, et un teckel miniature à poil dur, Plum. Nous préparons le deuxième sommet et festival de la rivière dans le village en septembre, un événement environnemental pour célébrer les rivières avec un sommet d'orateurs internationaux, de la nourriture sauvage, de la pêche à la mouche et de la cuisson sur le feu. J'ai essayé d'apprendre le français aussi vite que possible, mais j'aimerais que des francophones me rejoignent pour m'aider à passer au niveau supérieur.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Chalabre and the surrounding area is rich in natural resources. I am an ICF accredited coach and would be delighted to offer a weekly coaching session to workawayers as well as local excursions to places of interest. We go swimming in the nearby lake most days and I practice yoga in the morning several days a week which the workawayers are welcome to join for self practice.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like some help in the garden, so an interest in growing vegetables and permaculture would be nice. We would like some help decorating the second house in the village and also decorating our house, as well as help with the dogs from time to time. There will be regular cleaning to do, meal preparation and basic renovations and decorations like wallpaper stripping, painting and sanding.

    There will be cleaning in both houses. I really need people who can show initiative because I have to work on my computer several hours a day. Help with preparing meals and cleaning up afterwards would be greatly appreciated.

    Couples or friends traveling together would be perfect as there is a lot to explore together and sometimes with my job I am not able to be with you all the time.
    =================
    Nous aimerions avoir de l'aide dans le jardin, donc un intérêt pour la culture des légumes et la permaculture serait bien. Nous aimerions avoir de l'aide pour décorer la deuxième maison du village et aussi pour décorer notre maison, ainsi que de l'aide pour les chiens de temps en temps. Il y aura des nettoyages réguliers à faire, la préparation des repas et des rénovations et décorations de base comme le décollage du papier peint, la peinture et le ponçage.

    Il y aura du nettoyage dans les deux maisons. J'ai vraiment besoin de personnes qui peuvent faire preuve d'initiative car je dois travailler sur mon ordinateur plusieurs heures par jour. De l'aide pour préparer les repas et débarrasser après serait très appréciée.

    Des couples ou des amis voyageant ensemble seraient parfaits car il y a beaucoup à explorer ensemble et parfois, avec mon travail, je ne suis pas en mesure d'être avec vous tout le temps.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am trying to learn French as quickly as possible and am getting there although any French spoken workawayers would be very welcome

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a four bedroom house which the workawayers would stay in. The renovation of the house is well on its way although it still needs a little loving decoration. It is in the village so close to the all the shops. A simple lunch would be provided while helping with at least two dinners cooked and eaten together each week. There are beautiful walks that are easily accessible straight from the house and Chalabre has an award winning bakery, two butchers, an amazing local Carrefour where the owners are passionate about selling locally sourced vegetables. There are two bars, a hotel and a small Saturday morning market where local produce and gifts are sold. I work at a computer for a large amount of the day so will not always be with you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I run a small communications business focussed on the environment, wild food and the outdoors lifestyle. We do a lot of work around rivers, waterways and pollution and organise several niche festivals. Previously based in London, my coaching journey gave me the tools and the courage to move to this idyllic part of the South of France last year and change my life. I still work full time and much of that on the computer so for much of the day, I am on working in my office although always re-group for lunch on the days we are together. The closest airport is Carcassonne and there are train stations in nearby Limoux and Carcassonne. This area has a rich history and close by are the majestic ruins of the Cathar Castles. Lac de Montbel is 5km away and perfect for swimming. We have two bikes for workawayers to use. There are three rivers that meet in the village and beautiful pools perfect for a river dip. The local markets are wonderful at Mirepoix, Esperaza and Lavelanet.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I would love to host workawayers who work online. There are two rooms at the house perfect for this as they are large and have desks. The internet connection is good. This would be an ideal solution for me as would love to host people who are also wanting to be creative in the way they work.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a secure space for a campervan here. The garden at L'Oasis is gated and walled so secure

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 984695228921

Feedback (3)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)