Help needed to complete my wooden cabin home on the North Cornwall Coast, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 174 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/01/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    340

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in a wooden cabin in a sheltered valley on the wild North Cornwall coast, less than half a mile from the beach. The area is very popular, loved by families, surfers and walkers ~although at times it can be completely deserted. I am an artist and also run seaweed foraging courses (North Cornwall Seaweeds)~see on Airbnb Experiences.
    I love meeting people and think that to exchange your practical skills for accommodation in a beautiful part of the UK is the best answer for everyone.
    My plan is to eventually complete both my Art and Seaweed Studios, plus the extra accommodation needed for longer-stay visitors/helpers-like you !
    Please include any skills and photos of projects that you have worked on with your application, and let me know if you have any dietary requirements or preferences. I need experienced carpenters/builders/plumbers and general diy-ers. Looking forward to meeting you,
    Julie.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In exchange for helping me you may like to get away and explore the coastline, relax, surf, meet the locals, practise some art and craft skills...and even experience a seaweed bath. You can learn how to collect different seaweed species, cook with them and learn about their nutritional and healing properties. I lived in rural France for three years where we had volunteers. I am friendly and casual and like to get to know people with a chat. I also like to listen to music and to dance at music festivals !
    I hope people will feel relaxed and able to enjoy their stay.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for all round practical people, including couples, who are experienced with building and plumbing or are at least general DIY experts preferably with tools and preferably with a vehicle, to help build sheds, put up shelves, etc. and to help sort out my over wild natural garden. I am also looking for computer experts, who can help me with my websites etc instead of outside work when the weather is not so good. A vehicle is especially useful as it's a bit isolated here and I don't drive. (I love buses and trains though.)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some French .

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Two connecting bedrooms for up to 4 people with recently completed wetroom (shower and toilet) for short stays. More long term accommodation for helpers planned but still in my sketchbook !
    Meals generally shared with me. I like to eat food that is unprocessed and as local as possible including seaweeds...I'm becoming more vegetarian every day ! Great local farm breakfasts/lunches and evening meals at the local pub and two cafes right opposite the ocean ~ if you want a change !

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Local buses run through the village along the coast with magnificent scenery, and villages often used for film locations, or inland to various towns and villages,to stations at Exeter or Plymouth, or airports at Exeter or Newquay .
    Internet access, good wifi. Landline phone . No pets, no smoking in order to allow wild creatures and birds to visit.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 982792926675