Assist us to become self-sufficient! Starting from scratch!!!

Country

South Africa

Favourited 28 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/03/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1682

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Join my son and I on a smallholding 15kms from the sea and and a stroll to the bottom of the garden to our bordering river. Assist in growing new organic gardens of abundance. It's just too much for us to cope with alone,as its an old chicken farm thats been neglected and reansacked over the past year. So, if you are ready for hard work and new beginnings....come and get your hands and feet dirty and blistered in KZN, South Africa.
    I homeschooled my son, so any help there will be much appreciated.
    This is a new project as we are moving to a new location in a lovely farming region inland from Scottburgh and Umkomaas in a farming valley named "Crowders,"

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They will learn about rural community life in a beautiful subtropical area of the south coast in Kzn. Get to know the local flora and fauna. Meet with the local population just 15kms from Scottburgh. Close enough to the city of Durban if the need arises. swim in the river or the ocean. Travel by Local Transport or lift share as I do have a car.
    I garden by the moon planting calendar.

  • Help

    Help

    Permaculture gardening, composting toilet build. Compost water heating system. Bamboo structure building. Lawn mowing. Beekeeping, garden clearing and maintenance. Painting. Electric fence maintenance. Seed planting and saving. Baking and pickling and preserving. Electrical and plumbing. Decorating and plastering/mosaics. Assistance with farm stall. Basic self sustaining everything. Chicken knowledge. And much much more.
    No Television and limited internet reception on site, but a short walk will get you good connection.
    Love kids and animals as they rule the roost!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    2 spare rooms available. Shared bathroom.
    Camping by request. self catering kitchen available to cook. Food from the garden is free to use. We supply no meat.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I am looking for people who will love and care for my place as if it were theirs....
    Ie, pick up rubbish and dispose of it in the recycling bags provided
    Fill the dogs water bowl if its empty
    Pack the dishes away if they dry
    Wash the dishes if I've cooked you a meal
    Take the dogs down to the river
    Take Deegan, my 10 year old for a swim or fishing.
    Leave the bathroom the way you found it.... tidy
    Talk to me if something's not right
    No heavy boozing!!!
    If we've made lift arrangements. ..keep Em!! My time is precious.
    Don't let me run out of coffee, milk or sugar coz I'm a beast if I don't get my fix!
    Be honest and we will get on fine.

    Sea fun and sun pretty much all year round. Fishing everywhere as we practically on the coast. Aliwal shoal dive 35kms away. Oribi gorge a little way south. Scottburgh boasts great beach fun. Sezela, Pennington, Ifafa,Bazeley, Mtwalume all nearby.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

Host ref number: 981759488816