Come and exchange ideas and skills with me in Kendal, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 72 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Greetings travellers
    I'm a self-employed 55 year-old, living in beautiful northern England. I do some outdoor work and also teach yoga practices online. I have a son who is now living in Glasgow but drops in regularly - but he's not a DIY enthusiast and I appreciate help with projects in and around my house.
    Who are you and what are you up to?
    I go away quite often but when I’m around I’d appreciate some help with manual jobs (mainly woodworking) inside the house (boarding attic walls), outside (putting up a shed) and perhaps on the allotment + other odd jobs that arise ….
    It’s quite a solitary workaway so please be self-contained. There are plenty of places to explore around and about + buses into the Lake District.
    I offer a maximum stay of 1-2 weeks unless we mutually agree longer.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will communicate mainly in English (though I do speak some Spanish, French and German). My main offering is 25 years + of Yoga knowledge wisdom that is just as relevant today as it was 1000's of years ago. I am always happy to share wisdom that I have learned from my travels and training with Indian Swamis + incidental encounters with people from all over the world. Hopefully we will discuss evolution and involution (and the inseparability of inner and outer), how to apply Yoga teaching to contemporary challenges and what you can offer ... with or without my assistance.

  • Help

    Help

    I am inviting you to help me put up a shed and board the attic.
    You may also be able to help with social media or proof reading and refining ideas for a book I'm writing

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    German: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Single room with shared bathroom, potentially between 3 people. Kitchen is available ... we may share some meals and you may cook your own food too. I am not opposed to a carnivorous diet but I mainly promote vegetarian fare. I ask that you be comfortable with solitary times, personal reflection and study, balanced with social exchange and interaction.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I live in a beautiful place (see photos) next door to a wood but with a historical town 5 minutes down the hill. Within 20 miles there are amazing fell walks, an estuary, bird reserves, beaches, Lake District hills, rolling Yorkshire Dales, calm canals and racing rivers. There is a bus into the Lakes and a mainline train station 2 miles away for ease of access to London (2.5 hours) and Scotland (2-6 hours depending how far north you want to go!) I can offer a bike to explore locally, camping gear for overnight stays and maps to plan routes and adventures. Sometimes I may be able to accompany you and show you hidden parts of the Lakes, at other times it may be an excursion alone.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is a dining room table here + other creative options that we can discuss

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 981712933285