We need help in maintaining this beautiful piece of land and the gardens, but also for on-going building projects in Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 61 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    921

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we are two women, who arrived here in Andalucia 12 years ago. We looked for a place we could take care off in a sustainable manner, to develop it always with mother nature in our hearts. We came with our passion for creating a space, without leaving a too big of a footprint behind. We also came with our enthusiasm, to share and exchange knowledge and experience of living off-grid, sustainable building methods and working ecologically. One of us a landscape gardener, the other a community development worker.
    Today, we are very fortunate to call it our home. It is 1,5 ha of land along a river. We use natural building materials (straw, natural stone, wood) and also like to work with clay and lime. We have an organic vegetable garden, an olive and almond grove, and chicken. We are off-grid, producing the electricity we need through an insular photovoltaik system and we also have our own well.
    We need help in maintaining this beautiful piece of land and the gardens, but also for some on-going building projects (dry-toilet, natural stone wall, a small straw bale house). Ideally we are looking for helpers who are hands-on, are in good physical conditions and have a good sense of humor and love fun. We also will need some help - off and on - in the houses. The helpers need to be animal lovers, as we got 5 dogs, 3 cats and chicken living on the land, apart from the non-domesticated animals, who call this place their home too.
    The place is only 1 km away from Setenil de las Bodegas, which is one of the most beautiful villages (according to El país and google maps) but furthermore the people are real good. Ronda is close by, and the surroundings here are breathtaking. Granada, Cadiz, Cordoba and Sevilla can be reached by public transport. The Atlantic and the Mediterranean are a good 1,5 hours drive.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I suppose it is the whole way of living (off-grid) and sustainable ... of how we are doing things here. We have done everything ourselves... without being builders, plumbers or electricians ... and would like to share this knowledge and our experience with others. And vis-a-versa we would also like to hear from other people´s experience and knowledge.

  • Help

    Help

    land maintenance involving pruning, hedge cutting, mowing, weeding - olive harvest in december - and help with ongoing building projects

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    german, english, spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our helpers can make one of our Caravans their home. We offer an exchange of free stay and food for 25 hours work a week.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can reach Setenil by public transport. Ronda is not far and also has a trainstation. Granada, the Atlantic or Mediterranean, Cadiz, Sevilla, Cordoba.... all cities you will need to visit. Setenil is a 15 min. walk, and has lots of shops, bars etc.
    We like our helpers to be independent and respectful of space and boundries.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours a week


Host ref number: 981324385955