Help us with the olive harvest, general gardening and with our animals in Serra, Tomar, Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Looking forward to the Olive Harvest probably in October this year, when we need lots of help. Outdoors, good company, group meals and fun!!

    We are a mature couple, semi retired but active developing 3 acres of gardens and olive groves, plus a self catering holiday cottage. we need some help with general garden maintenance, pruning olives, strimming, Rotivating, DEVELOPING AND CONSTRUCTING A RAISED VEGETABLE BED GARDEN and ideas. Also as we move towards the Portuguese winter, not especially cold but sometimes wet, we need help with minor building work, construction of animal pens and houses, as well as essential maintenance, mostly painting, on the outside of our house and our holiday house next door.

    Have two lovely cats, Tabitha and Crookshanks (who is very shy!), who we adore but we also have one playful, loving donkey called Pavarotti, one rascal of a goat called Blackie, two beautiful new goats Kizzy and April, plus chickens and ducks that we need to build more houses for and rearrange our two paddocks so that the animals can all be together including the construction of a small duck pond. For this we need help!!
    .

    We Love our life in Portugal in our forever home, moved here over 4 years ago from England. Sue loves cooking, making jams, preserve, chutneys etc. We try to live as sustainably as we can, we love to scavenge for wood in the forest, which is right on our doorstep!
    We are trying to recycle as much as we can, all our animal houses are made from recycled pallets and wooden furniture!!
    We are 10 minutes from Town, by car, but the house and land is situated in a very peaceful location overlooking the valley and forest and a 15 minute walk to the lake Castelo de Bode.We are happy to take any helpers with us when we go out and about again now that covid restrictions are being reduced. And we have two bicycles that can be used at any time if you want to explore.

    We have a compact caravan for sleeping in and giving our helpers their own space and we've been told by workaways that have already been here, that is very comfortable and puts them in contact with nature.
    Thank you and hope to see you soon.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have a very varied group of friends and acquaintenances and very happy to spend time with workaway, our friends are Dutch, Belgian, English, Portuguese , Irish from a varied range of work backgrounds and ages. One of our daughters lives in Mexico married to an Italian.!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    General garden maintenance. Chopping logs, painting, strimming, Rotivating, weeding, pruning olive trees, clearing land for bonfires. Developing a raised vegetable area and developing the donkey/ goat paddock to make more accessible for our visitors to include the ducks and chickens

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a caravan with double bed and single bed we also have a shower and toilet in the main house for use by workaway We would be happy to share all meals and happy to cater for varied diets. We have a swimming pool which we are happy to be used as well as an outside kitchen which includes barbecue and bread oven. There is a washing machine that can be used as well as use of deep freeze if required

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is an intermittent bus service but we are happy to take workaway into Town with us, or out with us to any of the outlying Towns in the area. There is a train service from the main Town. There are bars, music nights, theatre, cinema locally as well as many festas, we can advise and help with activities, there is also horse riding and many water sports, we are. Very happy for workaways to join us as days/trips out, we enjoy sharing the location and the culture of this beautiful area of the world.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 978772639174