A self-sustainable Eco-project with a Colombian-Argentine family in Bogota, Colombia

Country

Colombia

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/06/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 56 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Colombian-Argentine family, several years ago since we started with this self-sustainable ecological project, and with each passing year we get more and more ideas.
    The cabin was remodeled and equipped since it belonged to an old farming family that grew potatoes and vegetables. Now the place is designed to develop both agricultural and livestock projects, and thus be able to obtain the basic food harvested by our own hands under our own care
    What we offer is a pleasant stay and an unforgettable experience, as well as comfortable beds and three meals a day. The work will normally be 5 to 4 hours a day from Monday to Friday.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    On the farm we also want to create a friendly family environment, to be able to share languages and teach workshops such as yoga, guitar, cooking outdoors.
    The cabin is located geographically 40 minutes north of the city of Bogotá which makes it a very strategic point for the perfect balance between mountain and city, down to the city two or three times a week is possible since I have a mark of clothes and I must be in contact with the city several times a week, so I could also take a tour of this beautiful capital city.

  • Help

    Help

    We want to join our team with assistants in whom we can trust tasks such as: finish building two spaces and make them habitable for future guests and helpers. It is a geodesic dome that is installed in one of the back gardens of the cabin with a spectacular view of the stars and an incredible stage to listen to the wild nature day or night.
    The other space is a cabin or a mountain shelter that is under construction down 300 meters down the river, hidden in a beautiful forest, also surrounded by lots of nature and caressed by the majestic sound of the river that passes a few meters .

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In the cabin there are two rooms, a kitchen, a bathroom with a hot shower and the purest water you can find. In one of the rooms we have a double and a single bed and in the other a double bed in which I sleep.
    The idea is to finish both the dome and the shelter behind the river as soon as possible, so we can have our guests and helpers there.

    It is also important to tell you that we have local suppliers so that there are always natural and fresh products at home such as: freshly milked cow's milk, fresh cheese, eggs of free hens and all kinds of organic vegetables brought from nearby farms, all with the purpose of not having contact with the mismanagement of processed foods of the food industry.

    We offer comfortable beds and three meals a day of healthy food and mostly produced in the area so it will also be part of the experience we want our helpers to have.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Just 30 minutes walking down the mountain along the main road, there is a bus stop that goes daily to Bogota at a certain time, driving through the mountains that will be in the city in just 40 minutes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 976437618991