Help us with building, firewood, landscaping, garden, family in bush and beach homes in Sandfly, Tasmania, Australia.

Country

Australia

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/08/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an owner builder family living in the bush 25kms south of Hobart at Sandfly, between beautiful kunanyi (Mt Wellington) and NW Bay. We work part time as artists in wood and arts health. We built our contemporary timber, solar passive home and a cosy cabin which has two bedrooms and a bathroom. Our eldest son is 21 and youngest is 6, we have a daughter 28 who lives in Sydney. We love making, designing, music, movies, walking, canoeing and all nature.

    At Sandfly we have chickens and a food garden. Our block is flanked on all sides by farms and bushland so you can enjoy the Tasmanian bush with the luxury of living in dwellings designed to keep you warm while being open to the views around us.

    We also have a beach block on Bruny Island and would love some help planting trees, building and landscaping.
    This will require that you enjoy "glamping".

    "glamping" = glamorous camping. We have a bathroom and kitchen but accommodation is in campervan or tents there.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can take a hot bath among the trees, surrounded by native wildlife as you gaze at the stars far from light pollution.
    Experience camp cooking on an outdoor fire pit and take beautiful walks to breathtaking views or if you're game, ride our MBT.
    We have travelled in Australia extensively and can offer great suggestions for places to visit if you are car camping. We are interested in learning about your culture and hope you can share with our children a broader world viewpoint than we can offer.
    We can teach you something about Australian Culture and offer beautiful clean Tasmanian produce.
    Fishing, native flora and fauna.
    We live 10 mins drive from beaches, Kingston, kunanyii (Mt Wellington) wilderness.

    and... "Strine" is some of the extreme slang you hear in this country. You'll be an expert after a couple of weeks with us.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Our wish list is people who have some experience who are positive minded, keen to help out with landscaping, building, likes kids, cooking and gardening. Helping with feeding, caring for chooks, guinea pig and humans from time to time.

    Our preference is that you are non smoking (around us) and are honest and straight up about where you can offer skills and what you might need training and supervision with.

    As a base line we ask 4 hours per day, but we wont always have this many hours of help, or you might might want do your own thing and come and go. We are negotiable if the feel of the arrangement is good for everyone.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A sunny warm room in our 2 bedroom timber cottage is available for your accommodation. It has a bathroom you would share with our eldest son. The room is comfortable, has a deck and a verandah and a double bed. It would suit a couple, or a single person and could accomodate two people who are happy to share or a small family. We can provide an extra single bed if required.

    Please let us know if you have dietary requirements or preferences in advance.

    If no tasks are required, we appreciate that you contribute to meals by shopping or helping with cooking, or take responsibility for your own.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a friendly community vibe here and the right person might find a lot of work offers! There are woofing farms in the area and you can connect with other travellers and young people at The Longley Hotel nearby. We can offer accommodation, meals and push bikes. Nearest bus stop is 2.5km away. It is preferable that you have your own transport.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have abundant wildlife around the property, friendly dogs are very welcome (we love dogs), but if your dog has a high prey drive please consider if this can be managed around wildlife. No cats please.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 975487659814