new host  

Help me with gardening and surf around Peniche, Portugal

  • Favourited 39 times
  • Last activity: 11 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello, I'm Marije, I live with my 16 year old son in Portugal in our new wooden house! we love surfing, gardening and living close to the surfing capital of Europe, Peniche! we lead an outdoor life and are going to work on our garden as soon as possible, now we are focusing on finishing the last major work on the wood cabin. I live in real Portugal in a small village in the middle of the fields. the neighbors pass by with fresh vegetables, horses, cows and sheep. the biggest advantage is that you also live close to the beach, the areia branca beach is only 15 minutes away. By bike you can reach the larger city, Lourinha, within 15 minutes. Lourinha is famous for its dinosaur skeletons and fossils. there is a large open-air museum and excavations have been done along the entire coast.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    With me you can experience what it is like to live abroad. to realize your dream and start a project from scratch. I bought land and applied for all permits. I now have a wooden house and can advise you on how to approach something like this. I sailed around the world for 8 years for this project. I am a world traveler through and through. You can also learn to surf or paddle board, if you are interested in language lessons you have come to the right place, because I am a Dutch teacher. In exchange for work I can give you language lessons.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for a handy man who can help with woodwork. To be honest, I'm looking for a real handyman, a carpenter would be great! the carpenter who helped me build has moved on and I'm not that skilled myself ;-) in return I can teach you how to surf in 2 weeks! or teach you Dutch, since i am a professional Dutch certified teachter.

    the other part i need help is to built up my garden. i need people who have green fingers and experience with gardening and building up a garden, i live for the first time in 10 years on land, and after all the sailing, i do not know so well how to make a nice garden with not much money.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am a professional Dutch teacher. And I can get you the basics of Portugese.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    you have your own wooden cabin. see photo's. the wood cabin is brand new, has a matras but you still have to shower in my house.

    i will provide lunch and dinner. i am not vegan or vegatarian, but i like to eat healthy!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    we got bikes and you can bike around, in less than half an hour you bike to the beach through the feelds, and the pittoresk vilage lourinha. there will be surfing together with me and i can give surf lessons, because i am also a surf teacher. there is a lot to hike here as well.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 975252627365

Photos

Feedback

Help with gardening in a little corner of paradise in the Algarve, Portugal
Help with children's activities and farm work at our forest school in Tomar, Portugal