Help us develop our family Chalet under the Mont Blanc. In France

Country

France

Favourited 19 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    62.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Family project : Refurbishing a Chalet under the Mont Blanc with a professional Architect and a Carpenter.
    FROM 15th jully to 10th august 2019.

    Once upon a time, an alpine chalet, far from the noise of the valley, and very small under the immense chain of Mont Blanc. This chalet was built more than 40 years ago by some brave do-it-yourselfers who had done the best with very little money and tools. Time, rodents, and use, but also a sense of comfort that has evolved, make it desirable today to do work mainly on insulation, carpentry, electricity and heating. Note that the cottage is 15 minutes walk from the parking of cars.

    This project is an opportunity to "make together", as a family, but also with friends or people from elsewhere, who would like to participate. The work will be organized in teams of 2, 3 or 4 according to the abilities of each, ages, and skills. Children are welcome if they are attentive and voluntary.
    The way of working will be decided with the participants, but in principle we will be on site from 9am for 6 hours per day. 2 days off a week. The equipment will be provided (except for suitable clothes and working shoes) and the work directed by a person as competent as possible.
    The duration of the passage on site is fixed at 1 WEEK Minimum (to properly install and train each person).
    The work is not paid, but you will be fed and housed. We will live in cottages nearby, all very beautiful and rustic, but everyone should bring their sleeping bag . The meals will be made by the teams, in rotation. The 15 minutes walking path to access the cottage can not be done with a suitcase so please bring a backpack.
    Do not forget music for parties, and games.

    Thank you for registering no later than May 29, explaining if possible your skills, your particularities, your tastes, your expectations to better organize the site, sleeping, etc.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The house is on a high mountain pasture above Les Houches Village in the Mont Blanc Chamonix Valley. Beautiful historical place in the alpes called Charousse. We are a french familly onsite for 5 generations. We will show you the best places around the site. We can go hiking and visiting around together. Would love to take you to Aiguille du midi summit for exemple. We speak mostly french and we could teach you if you like. Some of us speaks good english, German, italian. We will have meals together and cook french cuisine to show you. Happy to cook vegetarian if you prefer. In the evening we like playing board game or music around the fireplace. Looking forward to meeting you and make you discover our beautiful and peaceful area.

  • Help

    Help

    If you have experience in building it it is great but it is not mandatory. We need people interested, and motivated in good shape for physical work. Happy to live with other people for the time of the work.
    the help we need is for exemple :
    Taking off screws from wooden planks,
    Cutting cork panels into shapes to place insulation.
    Cutting timbers in good size.
    Screw on planks etc ...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English, German, little Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be hosted in a chalet next door to the one we refurbish. The room might not be private but shared with other (tell me if you prefer to have your own I will try to arrange- easier for couples).
    You should bring a sleeping bag.
    Food will be prepared onsite each day by us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are expecting for a nice working atmosphere. Respect for each other.
    In the area there is beautiful walking trails but also hiking and biking and climbing in the chamonix valley. Or just enjoy the natural pond next to the chalet.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 974689448235