Help family develop an off grid, eco homestead, yoga & bhakti retreat in BC, Canada.



Favourited 431 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

  • Description


    Hello and Namaste!

    *Please read our profile carefully before contacting us to make sure that this is an experience that feels compatible with your interests.

    We are a family of 4 humans: Mark (builder, designer, artist), Sunni (yoga teacher, veggie chef), Nash 7 and Tulsi 5. We also have 3 friendly, outdoor dogs to keep the bears, coyotes, wolves and cougars away.
    My husband and I met after travelling India and staying in ashrams and temples...we fell in-love with the spiritual culture and our hearts led us here to this wild, spiritual wonderland.

    Our homestead and local village is a very unique combination of off grid, Canadian, wild-country in an intentional spiritual community (Hare Krishna), which is a traditional bhakti yoga path from India.
    Bhakti yoga is a path of self-realization that focusses on purifying the heart through loving service. Our purpose is to share the wisdom and beauty of living a yoga inspired lifestyle.

    We are building a beautiful eco homestead, yoga & bhakti retreat on 15 acres of forested mountainside, overlooking the stunning Venables Valley and lake. Venables Valley is home to Saranagati Village, our 1500 acre, off grid, organic farm and bhakti yoga community in BC, Canada (4 hours drive north of Vancouver city).
    You can reach us by plane, train or bus service from Vancouver, Kelowna and other surrounding areas.

    We're in our 7th year of development on forested land. For the last 2 years, our workaway guests have helped with so many projects and we are so grateful. This year, we are focussing on some exciting building projects, maintaining our second year garden and greenhouse, business development and more landscaping.

    We welcome guests who are interested in and open to: off grid/eco living and development, Indian (Hindu) spiritual culture, traditional yoga and a sattvic (vegetarian/simple/clean/sober) lifestyle. Our whole community is like an ashram (place of spiritual practice)...we offer a truly life-transforming adventure! No experience necessary, just a willingness to work hard and learn! If this description sparks your curiosity and excitement, we welcome you to contact us.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️IMPORTANT*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ We are vegetarian/vegan (no meat, no eggs, no dairy) and we require that guests abstain from smoking, alcohol and drugs during their stay. These are cleansing yogic practices. Please make sure that this would be an authentic commitment and practice for you before you contact us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be immersed in a remote, wild, off grid, spiritual lifestyle. We practice yoga & bhakti so this is a perfect place to explore and deepen your spirituality.

    We offer 1 weekly community yoga asana class, as well as, occasional mantra-meditation sessions and kirtans.
    You are also welcome to join us at the house for early morning sadhana at 6am weekdays. This is a quiet time (before the kids wake up, lol) for personal yoga/meditation practice.

    There are regular cultural festivities such as, weekly temple programs, potlucks and small festivals.

    There are also weekly community games days/nights.

    You can learn about off grid/eco living, holistic health, building, landscaping, yoga & bhakti, vedic culture and philosophy, vegetarian/vegan/gluten-free/Indian cooking, organic gardening/farming, canning, village life, alternative living etc...

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We are looking for couples from May to December. Singles could apply from November to May. We need help with building projects, childcare, cooking, gardening, landscaping, general maintenance, house work...

    With 2 rambunctious kids, childcare is a huge part of our daily life. Our kids LOVE meeting and playing with new people...we hope you like lego, play fighting, colouring, stories, dress-up, dancing, adventures and can tolerate screaming for no apparent reason, LOL.

    Some experience with childcare (babysitting) is required and you will be asked to provide references.
    Construction skills, experience with power tools, chainsaw etc... are huge assets!
    Experience in vegan/vegetarian cooking, business development, fundraising, photography, videography and gardening/permaculture are also valuable!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Couples and singles stay in a private, tiny cabin OR tent trailer. There is fresh mountain spring water, a clean outhouse and an outdoor, solar-heated shower (in summer). Daily showers are also available at the house.

    You will be provided with fresh vegan meals. Breakfast is served at 8:30am (usually oatmeal, toast and fruit), a big lunch is served after work at 2pm and lighter dinner at 6pm (usually leftovers or soup and salad).
    Meals are often indian style cuisine, main sources of protein are lentils, beans, tofu, nuts and seeds. All meals are served at the house (5 minute walk from your accommodation).
    We also provide snacks, such as: green smoothies, fruit, veggies, homemade dips, crackers, toast, muffins/cookies, granola bars etc...

    No food/garbage in your cabin or tent will attract critters!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    SPRING/SUMMER SEASON (April-September):
    Work is generally 9am-2pm (5 hours), 5 days/week. Days off may vary.
    Climate is hot and dry (semi-arid desert valley, 2600ft). Long, hot days, 10C to 40C! Nights are cooler.
    Bring layers for hot and cold weather. You need good shoes/workboots for outdoor work and sandals.
    There are a variety of bugs/insects, bring bug spray if needed.
    With the long hot days, we tend to spend a lot of time outside and at the lake.

    FALL/WINTER SEASON (October-March):
    Work is generally 9am-2pm (5 hours), 5 days/week. Days off may vary.
    Climate is cold and dry (semi-arid desert valley, 2600ft). Short, cold days, 5C to -25C!
    Usually lots of snow from November-March.
    Bring lots of warm clothes, layers and wool socks etc...
    You need full winter gear: winter coat, snow pants, snow boots, thick gloves, tuque (snow hat) and scarf.
    We may have extra gear if you need to borrow some.
    With the short, cold days we tend to spend less time outside. There is more time for reading, meditation, yoga etc...

    There is a lake for swimming/skating (1 km from us) and endless back country to explore.
    The nearest towns are Ashcroft, Cache Creek and Spence's Bridge, which are a 25-35 minute driving distance. Our homestead borders wild back-country and this area is home to rattle snakes, coyotes, bears, dear, mountain goats, moose, cougars, wolves, lots of birds and many pesky rodents who's life mission is to find a way into buildings and make it their own!
    Our village is home to holy cows and many friendly family dogs.
    Transportation is very limited. There is no local bus. For personal supplies, we go to town about once a week. Guests can go to town with us or carpool with community residents.
    *Limited wi-fi is only available at the house and shop between 8:30am-7pm

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️IMPORTANT*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ We are vegetarian/vegan (no meat, no eggs, no dairy) and we require that guests abstain from smoking, alcohol and drugs during their stay. These are yogic practices for purification. Please make sure that this would be an authentic commitment for you before you contact us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours, 5 days/week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 949658487562