Help me to pursue my dream of creating a self-sufficient community on a farm in Lapland, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 500 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I need help in a small farmstead on the southern tip of Lapland. The first settlers came here in the 18:th century to start cultivate these remote areas, by then populated only by the Sami people. In the 1960's, a lot of the small farms and villages were abandoned in the area, so also this place. When I came here five years ago, the house had been abandoned for 40 years, and the forest was about to take back the open meadows. For me, this is an amazing place to live at. The ambition is to live entirely from the land - I gather wild plants, fish, keep animals, garden and try to repair and restore the buildings. To me, true freedom and richness is to live surrounded by fishing lakes, deep forests and silence. To keep it simple, and in harmony with nature.
    At the moment there are goats, hens, dog and a cat at the farm.

    I welcome volunteers who are interested in exploring self sufficiency and ways of living that challenge the modern consumerism society. This means that work can be hard sometimes, and you need to be prepared for a low standard. In return, you get the possibility to experience a place that has unique qualities in its location in the wilderness and a very small footprint when it comes to impact on the earth.
    The food is simple but pure and healthy. Fish from the lakes (perch, trout, pike), crops from the gardens and greens from the wild. Summertime we cook by an open fireplace outdoors, which is also a great start and ending of the working days.

    The way of life is in some ways similar to how the first settlers organized it. The house was de-modernized when electricity was cut from the farm some years ago, and the former well was destroyed by logging machines. Now the electricity for cell phones and computers come from solar panels (and a gasoline generator as a backup) and water is collected in a freshwater spring near the farm. During summer, the lake is great for bathing. At the moment this standard comply well enough for the needs.

    Life here is simple and it's not always as romantic as you might imagine. But as you will discover: Living simple is simply living!

    Its good to bring a sleeping bag, working gloves, good shoes and a knife. In wintertime a flashlight is very handy and in summertime mosquito nets to protect your head and bigger ones that covers your bed could be useful since the mosquitoes can be very challenging and seems to be able to get into the huts and houses at the farm.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have the opportunity to learn about wild plants both edible and medicinal, since a lot of work will include collecting them.

    There is also a lot to learn about gardening, building and different handcraft such as tanning and wood carving.

  • Help

    Help

    I need help with many different tasks such as weeding the gardens, picking berries and wild herbs, cleaning fish, moving logs and building to name a few. Also I need help with cooking and cleaning, I would say that is one of the most imoport task to make this farm operate smoth especially when there are many people here. So if you are intrested in taking care of the kitchen you are more than welcome. For me it is of great help if I can focus at the outside work.

    If you have a special interest/knowledge in construction/reparation, building, logging, beehives or any other area that seems relevant for this place, let me know! Please describe your expectations and experience in your message so that I can arrange your stay in the best way.

    I have put 5 hour as expected work but that is just a number in reality it will take more to keep this farm running, so therefore I kindly ask that people who apply ask themself before if they really would like to help with the hard work that is necessary in order to experience a selfsufficient life in the harsh north.

    I have a new special task for next summer if anyone is interested. I recently got more animals and the grazing grounds is not really enough so therefore I would want to bring the animals to a chalet that I recently bought where there is nice long forgotten meadows and let them graze there, but in order to do so I need someone to take care of the animals and protect them from wild animals just being present will most likely scare them away. This autumn andi winter i need help to repair the chalet so that it is suitable to live there.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Swedish, English, Finnish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    bedroom, loghut, tent

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The first Swedish settlement in Åsele Municipality (it was already inhabited by the native Sami people) was in Gafsele south of Åsele. The settlers were Nils Andersson and his wife Brita. They came from Finland in 1674, trying to avoid the war with Russia.

    Fredrika is a parish in the municipality. It was created in 1799 and named in honour of Queen Frederica Dorothea Wilhelmina of Sweden. Other nearby parishes were named Dorotea and Vilhelmina, but Åsele refused to take any of these names, as they were very proud of themselves and the town.

    In 1974 the former market town (köping) Åsele (1959-1970) was amalgamated with Dorotea and Fredrika. In 1980 the Dorotea part was detached, forming a new Dorotea Municipality.

    Geographically, the Ångerman River flows from Vilhelmina through Åsele Municipality, and many electric power stations are built around it.

    The town Åsele is located in the middle of the municipality. It has a nice looking church, a small historical (open air) museum and a golf course.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)














Host ref number: 973871337988