Help with child-minding for a French family 15 minutes from Perugia, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/01/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a converted convent immersed in the gorgeous Umbrian hills only 15 minutes from Perugia. We are a French family running a startup and caring for our 2 sons (6 and 1.5 yo). We love cooking fresh food every day (mostly vegetarian), taking walks in the hills, growing vegetables in our little garden. Our eldest son speaks French, English and Italian. Our second speaks his own language :-)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a very cosmopolitan family who love to learn about other cultures and try new things.
    A person who loves living in nature, appreciates good and diverse foods, and enjoys caring for kids will definitely enjoy our family.
    There are many hiking paths around, but the city is only 15 minutes car drive away.
    We are working in the olive oil industry, so the person can also expect to learn a lot about olive oil, running a start-up, and visit local farms.
    We eat mostly vegetarian and fresh foods. We cook local, but also Asian and French. You can expect to eat well, discover a lot about different cuisines, and of course different olive oils from around the Mediterranean.

  • Help

    Help

    The help required is mainly baby-sitting.
    We are a French family with 2 little boys (6 years old and 1.5 years old).
    We need help to support one of the boys with school work (he is learning how to read) and generally keep the boys busy and supervised while we attend to our work.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Individual bedroom on the ground floor with private garden access and shared bathroom with water basin, shower and bidet. The bedroom includes a bed (which can be made either single or double, a closet, small desk and chair. It has 2 windows which open onto the back garden and a marvellous view of the hills and Assisi. The family's bedrooms are on the first floor.
    Food is mostly cooked by the mother, but you are welcome to help. Our diet is mostly vegetarian, with some exceptions of fresh fish and high quality meat when we can get our hands on it.
    Help cleaning common spaces once a week is expected, as well as maintaining one's own space in a good state of order and cleanliness. We try to do things together on an equal footing and teach the kids to help keep the space tidy and clean at their own pace (it's more about teaching than getting perfect results at their age of course :-) ).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Perugia is an ancient city perched atop a hill. It can be reached by car or local city bus after a walk. It offers all the amenities of a medium-sized city and more: an arthouse small cinema, old and trendy restaurants and bars, a few shops. The city hosts several festivals a year, notably the Umbria Jazz Festival in July and Eurochocolate in the Fall.
    Umbria is a treasure trove for nature lovers, offering lots of hiking and cycling trails.
    Florence, Sienna, Rome and the Adriatic coast are about 2 hours drive. They can also be reached by train or bus from Perugia Centro.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have space for a spare car, but not a campervan.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We are willing to accept a pet, if clean and well-behaved. Hosting a pet would involve very regular support for cleaning common spaces, as we also have children and some respiratory allergies.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 973583353326