Come and help a family of 3 living on the small island of Teshima, Japan

  • Favourited 173 times
  • Last activity: 21 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 3 living on the small island of Teshima in the inland Setouchi sea. If you love nature, art and rural living this is the escape for you! We moved here from Australia 3 years ago for life change and enjoy the peaceful environment Teshima offers. We have renovated an 80 year old house into 2 villas and run this as an accommodation business.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Living on a small rural island has many benefits.
    We grow all our own vegetables in our gardens.
    Japanese language skills.
    Japanese history of the island and surrounding areas.
    Japanese cooking skills from the elderly residence.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for an individual or couple to assist us with looking after our vegetable gardens and animals (Goats and chickens).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Japanese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    House will be your accommodation which is located only 100m from our family home and accommodation business.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Plenty of sight seeing and nature to see on Teshima and the surrounding islands. The island is now famous for is art and museums. The beaches are spectacular and the water divine. There is also the opportunity for other seasonal work whilst on the island. Olives and mandarin picking and cleaning positions. Transport on the island is best by car or bicycle. Hiking the island and exploring the past is also a great past time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    due to street sizes the largest size vehicle would be a Toyota Commuter.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3hrs a day

Host ref number: 968764352325

Feedback (6)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (4.7)








Help me with household tasks and teach me French in Sendai, Japan
Help with some DIY projects in Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan