Family in Insch near Aberdeen, Scotland looking for volunteers

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 512 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    51.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Now that we are fully booked and spring is in the air we are looking for workawayers as soon as possible the main work is gardening, house cleaning and some decoration like painting but nothing requiring special skills.

    In exchange you will be very welcomed to our home, we are happy to show you the area and we are very flexible if you want to have long weekend away somewhere we are happy for you to take any chance to see as much as possible while staying with us. Also we love exchanging cooking skills, teaching and also learning new recipes.
    We are looking forward to hearing from you.

    We are now looking for helpers who can stay longer periods ie. few months at least if initial period of one month works for both parties. We are also looking for helpers who can come and help with gardening and general work in and around the house but we prefer when people can stay minimum 3-4 weeks. And also if anyone out there with any skills for any renovation projects like tiling, plumber, builder, plastering, working with wood or any we are always looking people with whom we can finish one of our many projects in the house and outside in the garden.

    We are a couple with one child 11 year old son Alex and we have for now 1 dog Biscuit who is one big baby who needs constant attention. We relocated to Scotland from South Africa 4 years ago where we lived for 5 years and before that we lived in Angola also for 5 years. I am originally from Bosnia/Croatia and my husband is from England but both of us spent most of our life's working and living abroad.

    We are easy going family who enjoys travelling, cooking, meeting new people and sharing experiences. We now have new home in small Scottish village which we are trying to renovate and make it truly our home. We now also run small bed and breakfast in our home (we have large 9 bedroom house) and most of our guests have been with us for over a year and they became part of the family. We do have sometime some extra guests as well who stay day or few days. It is a busy household, always something going on but that is what most of our helpers really like, some of the helpers we had in past stayed with us for months and one even 1 year. We made some good friends via workaway helpers that we stay in touch and some of them re-visited us.

    Martin my husband and me now running the house and work on house and garden and do work from house for the time-being. We love cooking and enjoy very much chatting with people in our kitchen/dinning room which is the heart of the house.

    Insch village is smallish village and there are some facilities in it like couple of grocery shops, pharmacy, bakery, medical practice, hospital, leisure centre, library, few restaurants and take-away's, couple of hairdresser's, florist, diy shop and few other smaller businesses and craft shops. Closest towns are Inverurie and Huntly and Aberdeen is also not far from us. Public transport is good, there is train station in the village and few bus stops as well.
    We prefer to have helpers for at least a month but sometime depends on circumstances we are flexible and can have people for less then a month and definitely longer then a month. For any other information's and details please contact me directly.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are well traveled family and between me and my husband we speak few languages and have abundance of experience from traveling around the world. Also our regular bed and breakfast guests are from Scotland and helpers can meet real Scottish people with their different dialects. We both love cooking and enjoy teaching our helpers to cook and we are always looking forward to learn new dishes typical for countries that our helpers come from.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with renovating our home. At the moment anyone with skills in building, plumbing, painting, carpentry or anything to do with renovating/decorating is very desirable but as any household we need help with general maintenance, housework, gardening. For spring and summer much of the work is outside in the extensive gardens.

    In winter months most of the help needed is inside ie, general housework and weather permitting some outside.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Croatian, Portuguese, Spanish, Urdu, Swahili, French, Swedish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    House has 9 bedrooms, 4 we rent and 5 bedrooms are in use by family. So 2 bedrooms would be available for helpers, now we have also 2 bedroom static caravan that we want to use for helpers as we need more people in spring for garden work. it is very nice caravan with lounge, kitchen, bathroom and two bedrooms. Helpers of course would be most of the time in main house but for sleeping might be in caravan accommodated. One bedroom is for one person and other is for two people to share, so maybe couple or pair of friends could share that bedroom. Bathroom would be a shared bathroom with other helpers in the house.

    We have 2 lounges, one is family lounge and other is for our guests/helpers but of course people are welcome to join us in family lounge as well, both lounges have Sky TV.

    We have large kitchen and dinning room which is the heart of the house and most of time everyone is hanging around there. We have WIFI for all helpers.

    We don't cook breakfast, so everyone helps them self with breakfast in the morning, lunch we all have together most days and dinner is our main meal of the day and we very much enjoying evening cooking and chatting with people and sharing a good meal.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Insch is small Scottish village with some great walks around and also one can visit local castles and distilleries. Train station is few minutes walk from the house and one can visit very easily Aberdeen town and surrounding towns and villages. It is very easy to get to coast from where we are.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours max

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
















Host ref number: 967929931129