Help a small family with their farm near Victoria

Country

Canada

Favourited 103 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/11/2019

 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a married couple, running a small 6.5 acre hobby farm, and two businesses from home. Firmin is a postal history dealer, who sells collectible stamps both at shows and online. I (Reay) make jams out of local fruit and sell them at farmer's markets, along side the eggs we collect from our flock of heritage breed chickens (we have about 50). There are also 5 pigs here.
    I also have a market garden, which supplies some of our food in the summer and fall; we will be expanding the garden to include a large blueberry patch, and pumpkin patch this year.
    We would also like to build a hoop house this summer, and are hoping to install a timed water system to make our lives easier!
    Our property is located a 20 minute drive from downtown Victoria. Buses and a small local grocery store are a 10 minute walk from our house.
    We generally have one shared meal a day, with breakfast and lunch being self serve, left overs, or a hot meal, depending on the day. You would be welcome to sit and eat with us, depending on your preference. We eat meat and vegetables, almost no junk food is kept in the house.
    We have a 6 year old golden retriever, who is very friendly.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Other

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone to help us with a variety of tasks, including light office work, and farm/garden help. Tasks include: cleaning chicken coop, collecting eggs, making/labeling jam, scanning documents, weeding and planting in the garden, and general house cleaning from time to time.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, limited French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have an extra bedroom that is the top floor of our house. It has a full private bathroom, and balcony, with views of the valley on both sides. There are two beds, so it would be ideal for two people traveling together, or a couple.
    We have internet access, but use it for work so large downloads etc would be discouraged.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are close to Durrance Lake, Pease Lake, Mt. Work and McKenzie bight (for hikers), as well as lots of other walking and hiking trails; Butchart Gardens is just up the street from us.
    There are tons of local farms and markets to visit and explore in our area, and we would be happy for you to come along on our Sunday market runs.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4

Host ref number: 967471375635