Help with DIY projects and garden projects in Mangawhai, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

updated  

Favourited 26 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm a young pensioner living on 4 acres of land, next to 25 acres of covenanted native bush, that I am re-wilding and creating some diodiversity for animals, insects and birds to find a safe home. There is a lot of gardening work but also small building projects too. I grow my own veg, make my own sourdough bread and live quite simply. Mangawhai is a vibrant community with a wonderful coastline of surf beaches, great Farmers Markets, Community Garden and walks in the Brynderwyns. I am vegetarian but don't mind a bit of meat being cooked if you provide it yourself. The accommodation is separate from the house (no bathroom, that's in the house) with a small cooking area for breakfast and snacks that you can prepare yourself but I envisage us eating our main meal together which I'm happy to cook but love learning new recipes too

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I'm a typical kiwi but have traveled extensively, I am always delighted to meet people from different cultures. I work once a week at the local Community Gardens where you can meet some colourful characters and see how awesome the garden is and the community support they provide. I also sing once a week with a small group of people

  • Help

    Help

    Ecological garden help, establishing diodiversity, small building projects (build an outside composting toilet), mow lawns, always house work to do on a rainy day etc

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I speak fluent English and German, a few words of French and 2 sentences in Japanese but I am always open to learning more and have often had to speak slowly in English so people can understand me. I know how difficult it is to understand when native speakers talk so fast

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Separate Hobbit Hut with kitchenette and small table, large outside private deck area, very cosy.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Wonderful surf beaches, nesting spot of the critically endangered Tara Iti, Brynderwyns for walking, coastal walkways, Farmers Markets (2), fabulous cafes and the famous Bennett's Chocolate shop, art galleries, State-of-the-Art skateboard park, easy drive to Whangarei and the Hundertwasser Museum, Waipu glowworm caves, safe estuary for kayaking and swimming

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have unlimited broadband but unfortunately the speeds aren't super fast but good enough to watch You Tube clips and movies etc. The WiFi doesn't reach your room, only phone data but you're welcome to use the broadband in the house.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 965422157555