Collecting herbs, general maintanence and reconstructing in Bodvaszilas, Hungary

Country

Hungary

Favourited 32 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Nice to meet you, my name is Viki, and I am inviting you to a place in Hungary called Bodvaszilas where you would arrive just in case if you would be a passionate cave-lover.

    I am somehow a world citizen, I travelled Europe for 2 years with my packpack together with a gentleman, I lived 4 years in Peru, in the Sacred Valley. I am always open to new things and I respect a lot other people and other cultures. I am well travelled and as a matured member of an online travelling group I know what means really to share and interested in others.

    My home is without television, I rather talk about innovation and travel experiences than politics, I love to cook and prepare healthy things eg. pancake with my own sourdough, raw cakes, fermented cooked rice, and I am passionate about my herbs, essential oils and fermented cosmetics. From time to time I like to renew old things such as tables, different equipments and furnitures. I learned how to make amazing ceramic lamps decorated with rounded holes. I am doing ashtanga yoga as frequently as I am able to.

    I regularly use my cards (tarot, gipsy, transparent tarot) to understand how our Universe is operating. It helps me to see things which are unseeable and I can help others to understand their subconscious motivations and schemas. If you are curious enough I am open to read the cards for you.

    I made a place for composting, maintenance of my garden, some building work and also harvesting and drying wild herbs. I am working 3 days per week in Budapest. It would be great if you could help me in activities such as repairing the fence, keeping the house warm, buying things in Miskolc, cleaning and other things around the house.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In this area the stalactite caves are really unique and visiting them is like an expedition. In this area of Hungary you can see how Hungarians are living together with gipsys and how important are keeping our old traditions even in the housing. Be open to learn a couple of Hungarian words just to manage your life because here just a few speaks English and you need to use your hands and legs a lot..

    You can learn about Hungarian herbs, how to harvest and make them dry, how are the fermented cosmetics and why they are green, how to make your own ceramics with an ancient Latin-American technique. If you somehow have an innovation I can help you how to step further to achive your goal.

  • Help

    Help

    I need some help around the house, repairing the fence, gardening (April-September), general maintenance and renovation/building projects, buying food and going to the market to the biggest city nearby. In case you are an artist I would love to share the Hungarian traditional motivs with you and do some painting together.

    Spring and summer I would need hand for collecting herbs and processing them, also cooking and cleaning the house and around. If you stay around full moon (at least growing moon time) you can experience how to pick up different herbs in the nature and how to process and use them.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Hungarian: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room in the house. My place is an old 100 years old traditional rural Hungarian house made of adobe and stone so it is colder than a normal apartment in the cities.

    For your work - apart from your accommodation - I will give you breakfast, lunch and a small dinner every weekday, all other meals are on your own or depends on our agreement. I love to prepare fermented food, bread/pancakes with sourdough... Please consider, that sometimes you need to prepare the food for yourself.

    If you are a couple I can give you accommodation for both of you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My small village is located on the countryside at the Hungarian-Slovakian border, in the region of Aggtelek and Slovak Karst which have been declared UNESCO World Heritage regions including incredible caves that can be visited during certain periods of the year. Buses and trains are coming to the place, the closest big city is Miskolc (1:30 hour by train) and Budapest, the capital, takes 4:30 hours by train in a daily frequency of 8.

    It is worth to mention that the wine region of Tokaj, which is the birthplace of the worldwide famous Tokaji Aszú, is also close to this region. If you like walking in the nature and exploring you can do your own Camino here :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 963356679562