Help us to build an ecological dome home before winter near Red Wing, Wisconsin, USA

Country

United States

new host  

Favourited 1 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/09/2019

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, my name is Dorothee, I am French, living in Wisconsin on my in law's farm with my husband. I traveled a lot in Europe and in South America, I woofed and worked-away in all kind of situation, I even received a lot of wwoofers in a farm where I was in France for 3 years, and now, this is a new step in my life, getting married with my long ago lover, Joshua, building a living situation with him on the farm, and starting our farming activities.
    Josh has never been part of this kind of exchanges, but I love it so much that he is willing to try it out. So let's all show him how great it can be to have strangers living in our home and sharing the everyday life.

    The farm so far it is more like a self-sustainibility little farm with 3 dogs, 2 barn cats, 2 goats and the 6 cows of our friends/neighbors who don't have enough land on their farm. Trudi, the mother, used to be landscaper, so we are lucky to have beautiful flowers everywhere. The farm is beautiful (as a matter of fact, they used to receive weddings here), quiet, surrounded by forest.

    We are in Wisconsin, just on the other side of the Mississippi from Red Wing Minnesota, which is the nice little town of the Red Wing shoes. The river is 5 minutes away by car, and offers a lot of possibilities like fishing, canoeing, boating and hiking on the bluffs. Lake Pepin is 15 minutes away, this is the largest lake of the Mississippi, it is breathtaking. Around it are a few towns with very interesting and diverse tourism, and many artistic things as well.

    Because it is new for Josh, we want to try first with some 3-4 days visits, not more. Hope you understand!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn a lot about dome construction, gardening, flowers, problem resolution, ecological way of life (dry toilets, organic gardening and eating, simplicity). You can speak french or spanish with me, or english with the 3 other members of the family who are native from here. Paul, the dad, used to be an anthropologist, so he can teach you the world!
    Josh is a musician and a funk DJ.

    By the way, I would love to learn how to use the design software, that would make our planning way easier sometimes.

  • Help

    Help

    At the moment, Josh and I are building our "house" and could enjoy some help with that. Our house is gonna be an Airstream in a Geodesic Dome. The idea is to live in a tiny space (more ecological) but enjoy the dome as a bubble of indoor/outdoor space where it doesn't freeze, doesn't rain, doesn't snow... green all year round, even in the white months of the long Wisconsin winters.
    We have to finish the dome before the winter, so the work varies around :
    - wood working to do the triangles and cover them,
    - doing the foundation,
    - building the retaining wall
    - installing the drainage system
    - creating the doors and windows systems,
    - creating the cupola
    - and all kinds of little things.
    We are trying to build our dome with very little money, a lot of used materials, everything DIY, and the most ecological possible. I am very proud for example to be using for the sides of the triangles (the structure of the dome really), some recycled palette 4x4!!!!! Ultimate recycling!For insulation, it will be sheep wool.

    If you'd like to, there is always some hand to give in the garden as well, or at doing preserves.
    And if you really like gardening, you can even go and help our neighbors with their CSA produces.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Spanish and a little bit of Portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Because we are building our dome, we live in 2 trailers, one is our bedroom and the other one is our kitchen/ dining/ bathroom. You could be sleeping in the kitchen trailer but you'd be in the common space, so I would recommend a tent. We have 2, a normal one and a big big one, where we can put you a real mattress, beddings and comforter.
    Otherwise it is all normal, a shower, hot water, a fridge, a stove.
    This is countryside here so if you want to go around when not working, it is easier with a car. We will be able to bring you sometimes, some places if it matches with our trips, but don't expect too much of that, cause we are quite busy (got to finish the dome before the winter!!!!!!).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Things that you can look up before coming are :
    - Red Wing, MN
    - Maiden Rock, WI
    - Stockholm, WI
    - Lake Pepin
    - Twin Bluff, MN
    - Prairie Island, MN
    - Minneapolis , one hour away, lots of great concerts there.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 962846817984