Be part of the family in New York State, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 206 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/09/2022

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Due to COVID we can not host anyone for a while, as we have immunocompromised family members :( We're super sad about that, and miss having people from all around the world come and visit! Hopefully this summer/spring things will be better and maybe we can make arrangements later!

    Dynamic family of 8; 1 mom, 2 girls, 3 dogs, 2 horses. We like to learn, be inquisitive, explore. Sometimes we like to just explore Netflix, but most of the time outside, in books, or we're out geocaching! We live on a farmette, meaning a lovely house with barn (the horses ;)) and 88 acres of land (which someone else farms). We live close to Niagara Falls, Letchworth Park (THE Grand Canyon of the East!). We care about the environment, and we care about our friends and family. We'd love to learn from you, and hopefully you can learn from us!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In the winter you can experience the fabulous Buffalo lake effect snow blizzard, several feet of snow and nowhere to go is always fun, right? We're close to Niagara Falls, Letchworth Park, the Women's Rights Museum and other very nice cultural places. Geocaching takes us around to see very interesting places, there is always something to learn!

    And of course immersing you in american family life!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    I'm a single mom and I have to travel quite a bit for work, so I'm looking for someone who would like to stay with us for a while and be the adult in the household while I'm gone.

    As a family we all have chores to make sure the house runs smooth and we expect for you to contribute. You're not our maid and we are not yours. We do a lot of projects together. Thanks to youtube we've remodeled our basement and 1 bedroom. And of course, it's a farm, there is always something to fix or tend to. We do all of that as a family and would like for you to join!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    We love to learn and help you improve your English!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a private bedroom.

    We eat together, all meals, you are part of that! Not that we're going to eat you, but you'll join us. If you have special request then just let me know. We like to eat local, organically grown food and watch what we eat.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Kids get on the bus at 7:30 AM and depending on after school activities, they will not be back until 3 PM. There is only 1 car, so we'll have to coordinate, but it is all about communication. There is plenty to do around; we always have projects laying around that need to be done.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 959951313882