Please come & help to prepare meals and teach French , Spanish or German for us for a week near Inverness, Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 193 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello hello ! Our home is off the beaten track right out in the countryside , just a few miles from beautiful Loch Ness
    Set in 5 acres and surrounded by rugged farm land with views all round
    it’s very quiet with no passing traffic ( no shops 15 miles!) and no public transport
    In fact, please make sure that this rural area is suitable for you as it is so quiet! If you enjoy walking, peace and quiet and nature then this IS perfect for you
    I am 50 yrs old and have three children ( 12, 7 &8)
    I work as a foster carer ( a PVG certificate, or equivalent , for working with children would be helpful if possible .)
    We have an organised home & the children enjoy a structured lifestyle so I have to say , they are very well behaved & polite
    They are fluent in Gaelic and attend the Gaelic school in Inverness
    John is an agricultural engineer. He works on many of the local farms & estates
    He is at his happiest driving his digger, tractor & quad ! He is very much an outside person so he is not often found in the house !!

    We would love someone who is super child friendly to come and teach French , German or Spanish and also do some cooking - we love trying any new foods
    We Have no special dietary requirements )

    We have a cat 16 ,hens, 5 ducks and 2 mini pigs
    There is an abundance of wildlife here . We have pheasants and hares which often come up to the door to be fed
    there are always red kites above the garden and deer too
    We are fairly remote with the closest bus service 15 miles away in Inverness
    I would be happy to take you to Inverness where you would be free to explore or you could hire a car locally
    There are walks through the fields right on the doorstep

    We have provision for hook up for a motor home / camper van

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can practice your English on me!
    A beautiful place to stay in the Highlands of Scotland
    10 minutes from Loch Ness and 45 minutes from the Cairngorms and Aviemore
    Enjoy some Scottish gin !

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for someone who loves food and can genuinely cook , can plan meals sensibly and bring some new ideas into our mealtimes We love to try new foods We have no dietary requirements- just fussy kids sometimes !

    The children would be very keen to learn French, German or Spanish

    It is important that you realise that we are in a remote location so things are very quiet here
    so please be sure this environment is for you !

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Gaelic (Scottish): Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    spacious bedroom with super king size bed & en suite
    Peace and quiet with super views

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I am very flexible with how you would spend your time
    I can take you into Inverness which
    is 15 miles away where there are good bus and rail links
    Aviemore is 45 minutes away from our house
    As soon as you step out of the door , there are miles of fields , tracks and walks
    Walking boots / wellies are a good idea and warm clothes for Scottish weather !

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have plenty of space to hook up a motor home

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 958239694726