Come and help me on my land in Iringa, Tanzania



Favourited 56 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    I am a mature French woman living in Iringa,Tanzania, in a very charming and peaceful house surrounded by the Gangilonga site and I am looking for volunteers to come and help me at my house and land.

    The position is all through the year, ask for any availability.

    I will be happy to have you in my house, non smokers preferably or if yes, non smoking inside my house and cigarettes must be kept in a proper place (ask when you arrive), wifi is available, all extra expenses will be yours (like bottle water, toilet paper, washing powder, transports).

    Please ask any question you may have i will be happy to help you in any ways!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Tanzania is rich in various ways, culture, food, clothing, for nature lovers Iringa and the surroundings are full of beautiful sites like Isimila, Gongilonga site, Magic site, etc. It's very close to one of the most beautiful national park of Tanzania: Ruaha. It is close to many regions of Tanzania, Mbeya, Dar es Salaam, Dodoma, Mwanza, easy to reach by bus.
    My house will welcome you and we will be able to speak French or English, share ideas and improvements about the houses and land. I am fond of recycling and decorating. I am making my own cheese, jams, cakes, chutneys etc. we will share about all aspects of food transforming.
    I want to grow in an organic way all sort of vegetables, mixed with flowers and wild plants as green fertilizer.
    I am an animal lover, I feed birds and am starting a hostel of insects as I believe in what nature has to give as its most when you respect it.

  • Help


    The help with the house will be exclusively DIY and recycling materials.

    The work at land is fully organic, taking care of fruit trees: banana, mango, papaya, peach, lemon etc... making and using of liquid manure from plants, organic compost making, birds feeding, hostels for insects to maintain in good condition, picking the fruits, cutting grass and branches, working at the land, planting and weeding, all new ideas and improvements are very welcomed!
    As a good workawayer, you will work at least 4 hours a day, 5 hours at its most, 5 days a week; my house is not a hostel nor a restaurant! so please be serious at work and you will be rewarded!
    You can choose to work in the morning from 8am to 1pm or in the afternoon from 2pm to 7pm.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English, a bit of German

  • Accommodation


    You will receive 2-3 meals a day (if you want to eat outside please tell me in advance as I am the cook!), I am not a vegetarian and you might help me with vegan receipes!
    You can use the kitchen as long as you keep it clean. Breakfast will be tea or coffee, toasts with bread, butter, jam or honey, 1 egg per person (2 if the hens are productive!)
    As week ends are free, you may use the kitchen with your own food, I will not cook for you, sorry, I also need some rest!

    You will have shared/private rooms in my house and you will have/share the bathroom with other helpers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    From Dar Es Salaam you can take a bus to Iringa town, get in touch with me by email or whatsapp I will tell you which company you could come with. Please feel free to submit to me any request you have, thank you and welcome in Tanzania!!!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 957583338447