Eco Farmliving in mountain area. Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️*️*️At present we welcome a couple for the exciting and labour intense period of lambing*️*️*️

    As a family with four kids age 1 to 8 living on a small eco farm in the mountainous area of Jamtland, we need more grownups on the farm to manage. Our family also includes three working dogs and three cats. We aim to be as self-sufficient as possible. We hold sheep for wool and meet, and ducks for eggs. We grow fruits, berries and vegetables in our garden. We hunt for moose, mushrooms and wild berries in the woods. We cultivate the fields for animal feed. We welcome volunteers to help out with the great variety of chores present in our daily life. The most important chores are child-care (although all kids but the baby spend their day at school/preschool), daily maintenance and cooking, animal care, gardening and occasionally painting and smaller construction. In exchange we offer knowledge in the self sufficient lifestyle, sheep farming, growing vegetables, no-dig gardening, gardening in cold climates, wool and yarn spinning, Swedish culture and language. We speak Swedish (native), English, French and German.

    The dogs are two moose-hunting dogs and one sheep dog. The breed of sheep we keep is a new Swedish breed, called Jamtland Sheep (jämtlandsfår), which has been obtained through crossing with merino. We have 32 ewes and expect about 60 lambs in April. We have 9 ducks of Swedish yellow duck, Cayuga and Magpie.

    We are Hanna and Jorgen, professionally working as researchers and teachers at the university. The load has, however, been unmanageable since we had kids and Hanna is now sufferings from burnout syndrome. In addition to this, our four kids are very active. If you, as a volunteer, is interested is social work and differences in personalities and the complexity of the human mind and development, it is, thus, a big plus. This is a place where you could really make a change and a great contribution.

    We are friendly and social, but also have a need for privacy sometimes. Hence, we offer our guests their private accommodation, but are happy to have you share our kitchen and living areas and will enjoy to have meals together.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We offer knowledge in the self-sufficient sustainable lifestyle, organic farming, sheep farming, growing vegetables, wildlife and foods to be found in the wild, wool and the making of yarn and woollen textiles, Swedish culture, cooking and language.

    If you are interested in learning traditional handcrafts I’d be happy to share my passion about spinning, knitting, weaving, embroidery or even traditional tanning of leather or fur. Or, we could learn some together, for example weaving baskets of salix.

  • Help

    Help

    We welcome volunteers to help out with the great variety of chores present in our daily life. The most important chores are child-care, daily maintenance and cooking, animal care, gardening and occasionally painting and smaller construction.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Swedish, English, French, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two possible housing alternatives. One is a private cabin by the lake (the yellow house in the background of the campfire photo), with electricity but without running water, but with access to shower and toilet in the farmhouse (there is a privy by the cabin). The second alternative is a suite with shower and toilet in the basement of the second house on the farm, where grandpa lives upstairs. Kitchen will be shared in the main farmhouse where we live. We enjoy cooking, and we will cook together or take turns to prepare the meals, which we preferably enjoy together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This mountain area is famous for skiing, both downhill and cross-country, mountain biking and hiking. The nature is wild and generous and easily accessible. Public transportation stops 400 m from the farm.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 957441426244