Farm experience, helping in the beautiful Hunter Valley, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 128 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a husband and wife team running usually about 100 beef cattle and 2500 sheep for wool and meat on our working farm . Our adult children are living and working away from home. Due to prolonged drought conditions we no longer have any cattle.

    Our farm is a 1800 acre property situated 20 km north of Cassilis village which is located in the Hunter Valley between Merriwa and Coolah, or 110km north west of Mudgee. We are geographically fairly isolated, however the scenery is very beautiful

    The terrain is hilly to steep, with two creeks running through the property. The farm is vegetated with natural pastures and bush-land areas.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have enjoyed for many years having backpackers from a wide range of cultural backgrounds who come and stay on our farm. If you are looking for a real Aussie farm experience off the beaten track, away from the usual tourist route, this is it! You will learn about our way of life while developing new skills and we like to learn from you too.

  • Help

    Help

    We are currently working on a farm fencing and water project, and would love some help with putting up new fences, water tanks and solar pumps.

    Help includes looking after the vegetable garden, fencing, painting, general maintenance, sheep and cattle work and animal husbandry. Horseback is available for experienced riders. Daily care of working dogs, hens, geese and horses. Some of the work may be physically demanding at times, however there are also a lot of easy tasks.

    We are looking for helpers who are reliable, self motivated, enthusiastic, and willing to work unsupervised on some days.

    The terrain and geographical isolation may make it difficult for unhealthy people to carry out farm duties.

    Minimum stay is generally 2 weeks, longer stays may be negotiated after initial the 2 weeks if there is suitable work available and it suits both parties.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is in our home, with your own bedroom. All food is provided, and special dietary requirements are catered for if necessary. Help with meal preparation, washing up, cleaning your bathroom etc is expected.

    Mobile reception is variable, depending on carrier and phone type, so if you want to use your mobile phone, make sure you have a carrier that works in regional areas eg Telstra or Optus. Our home internet operates through satellite with limited data, so is not available for entertainment.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bush walking, bird watching, swimming, cycling, and horse riding for experienced riders are some of the recreational activities available. There is an abundant variety of flora and fauna.

    Participation in the local community events like rodeo, agricultural show and campdraft will give you a taste of some real Aussie experiences.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours per day, 5 days a week

Coolah Tops National Park, located nearby.








Host ref number: 956449672894