Help with gardening and other projects and stay with a musician and artist in Whangarei, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 57 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/03/2019

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi,
    I am an artist, musician and teacher. I was classically trained on the clarinet and absolutely loved playing brass bass in a dixie band. I'm semi retired from teaching but keep my hand in with a private clarinet student.
    My paintings explore colour and texture and relate to maori culture. Currently I'm working on a mosaic and some pottery platters.
    I enjoy outdoor activities and have recently got myself a kayak which I am totally loving.
    I like gardening and enjoy my chickens and ducks.
    In 2012 I fell out of a pohutukawa tree at the beach and broke the heel bone in my left foot. Four years later I still have too much pain in my foot and back so am not able to do as much as I used to in the area of physical activity. I have also put on a lot of weight which I hope will be reduced with all my kayaking.
    Since my three sons are now grown up I am using my spare rooms for rentals. I've had some lovely guests and I enjoy conversation with them. It is a treat for me to share the occasional meal since I live on my own.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have studied Maori art and tikanga so have some knowledge and many books to share.
    I'm happy to talk about my own lived experience as a musician and artist and of course about New Zealand Aotearoa and would love to hear about your culture.
    If you are here in the summer we can go to any number of beautiful beaches and in the winter to Ngawha Springs for a hot soak.
    You will experience our kiwi lifestyle which is quite relaxed.

  • Help

    Help

    Building a back fence, the ground has lots of rocks so where a hole cannot be dug I'm thinking we can set a post into a bucket of concrete.
    Tidying up the existing fences and gates around the garden.
    Finish digging a drain and removing the rocks then laying drainage pipe and covering with stones.
    Design and build shelving in the laundry.
    Total bathroom renovation - take out existing bathroom fixtures and replace with new vanity and spacious shower.
    General gardening and section maintenance.
    Help with moving and taking photos of furniture to be sold.
    Clearing the clutter from the carport.
    Care of chickens and ducks.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be offered one of my two rental rooms. Both are private rooms. One room has a double bed and the other room has a single bed with space for a fold out bed if required. The bed linen is pure percale cotton and the beds are comfortable. Shared bathroom.
    When I know you are coming I will keep the room available for you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have two bicycles available for guests to use.
    There is a public bus service to the bottom of my hill but the last bus is at 5.30pm and they don't run on Sunday or public holidays.
    To walk into town takes a good 40 minutes.
    My house backs onto native bush with a waterfall and a pathway down to the park so there is a lovely bush walk close to home.
    I have unlimited wi-fi.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 955533351671