How about to visit Venice and teach English, for a couple of weeks or so?

Country

Italy

Favourited 90 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/06/2018

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    It's a good opportunity to visit Venice and its surroundings. We're a typical italian family of five, between Venice and Treviso. We're interested in cultural exchange mainly aimed to improve education of our three kids.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    We're mainly looking for a mother tongue volunteer (preferably British) who can help our three kids (14, 11 and 6 years old) to learn English. Your core task will be to teach for no more than "4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week" (as indicated on the site).

    Teaching should be a mix between the typical scholastic approach (using their school books and helping them with the exercises) and little tasks and activities oriented to the same objective.

    Example: if I ask you to help the kids with tidying up their rooms it's not because they really need your help to do that but because I would like them to learn some new words and some new verbs not only by studying them from the school books.

    For the youngest one (6 yo) you can just play with her, so she can learn some basics through simply playing.

    Having to work with children, we need a person with a good amount of patience, enthusiasm and passion. The ideal profile is a 20-30 years old girl from UK, able to develop empathy with our kids (especially with our two daughters). They have some difficulties with English and we think that they need an example to follow; someone who can represents a point of reference for them.
    ___

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian and some English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can offer a big guest room, italian food (breakfast, lunch and/or dinner), location close to Venice (less than 25 minutes by train plus 10 minutes by bus or taxi). We live in a quiet place, in the outskirts between Venice and Treviso.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We would like to start with a couple weeks or so, both because we're newbies and because in the summer we have a bit of commitments already scheduled.

    The preferred period for teaching is between the afternoon and the evening. For this reason we're looking for a guest interested in visiting Venice and its surroundings in the morning and working in the afternoon. But if sometime you need the afternoon free or if you need to stay at home in the morning we can switch the program. On the weekend you're completely free; you can do and go wherever you want or, if you prefer, we're happy if you stay with us.

    We will do everything to organize the days so that you can enjoy your free time. For example, in the morning, while I go to work, I can give you a lift to the railway station of Mogliano Veneto so you can go wherever you want (from there you can be in Venice in 20-25 minutes).

    Note: Taxis are quite expensive in Italy. We have some bicycles but if you want to feel completely free consider the possibility of renting a car. Searching on google [ rent car venice airport ] you can find many solutions, even not expensive.

    ___

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Workaway Party (Summer 2015)
When we've been in Wales
My son's chilies
A welcome banner made by the kids
The "spritz", our favorite appetizer
A sample of the railway timetable from Venice to Mogliano
The railway station of Mogliano Veneto. From here you can be in Venice in 20-25 minutes.
The church of St. Elena Imperatrice
A view of the surroundings
My wonderful homemade pizza
The barbecue
The guest room
Host ref number: 953544922362

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more