Help to rescue a family farm from 1920's in Suislepa village, in the middle of Estonia

  • Favourited 30 times
  • Last activity: 13 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    My name is Terje, I am a 32 year old theatre artist/light technician who inherited her grandparent's farm in Suislepa village 3 years ago. It has been empty for over 10 years. My ultimate goal is to make the farm liveable all-year-round but the goals for 2024 are finishing the greenhouse project, keeping up with gardening, fixing the roof of the barn and clearing it from old hay. Eventually I want to create an artistic/bohemian-friendly holiday farm. I am looking to meet creative and motivated people who enjoy an active holiday in the countryside.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The farm is located next to Õhne river, it's a beautiful spot for hiking. I can offer cultural exchange- learning things from each other and making good connections with like-minded people. I can teach guests about gardening and provide a space for making art, yoga, music etc. I have supplies for painting/crafty things that are free to use. It is also possible to use my apartment in Viljandi with previous agreement.

  • Help

    Help

    I have started to renew and renovate my grandparent's farm in Suislepa village, in the middle of Estonia. I am planning to move towards a self-sustainable lifestyle; renovate the house, barn etc. I need help with finishing the greenhouse (started with my first volunteers), clearing out old hay from the barn, fixing the roof, mowing the lawn, making garden beds, gardening in general and fixing things around the house. I also have a cat who might need feeding if I need to leave for a day or two for work (I am a theatre light technician and a stage designer.) I offer 2 vegetarian meals per day for the volunteers - help with cooking/shopping and planning the menu is also welcome.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Estonian: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would like to practice my English and very beginner Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are 2 bedrooms in the main house and 1 bedroom in the granary (separate little house next to the main house) for guests and volunteers. The living conditions are pretty rustic, there is no running water, water comes from the well, there is a sauna. Electricity is only in the living room and kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a beautiful old manor and a hiking trail. It is possible to rent a boat as there is a river and a lake near by. The nearest town is Viljandi, which is a 40-minute bus drive away (40km). I drive back and forth Viljandi a lot also.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is unlimited wifi.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Please let me know in advance if you're coming with your own camper or a motorhome.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Pets are welcome, I have a cat.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 953421174961

Feedback

Help to renovate and maintain an old country cottage near Antsla, Estonia
Helping on a recreational farm on the island of Prangli, Estonia