Living in a communal project in Brandenburg, Germany



Favourited 87 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Hi guys, I'm Aaron. I'm living with around 60 people in an old paper factory in a village near Berlin. The place is full with lovely people and crazy characters from students, artists, musicians over to carpenters, gardeners or entrepreneurs. We are surrounded by a beautiful beech forest. A small river cuts trough the property.
    There's a sauna, cafe and bar, gardens, chickens and heaps of fun stuff.

    Many of us are members of a non-profit association in the making. The objective is to create spaces for a broad range of cultural outputs such as music, art, theatre/ performance or dance.

    7 people are currently living on 600 m² in a part of the factory we call "the chapel". This is where you would be staying. Here we live in a shared house with a strong focus on a friendly and respectful way of life. Regular meals, meetings and activities are important to us and a vital part of our communal life.

    Hi Leute, ich bin Aaron und lebe mit ca. 60 Menschen in einer alten Papierfabrik in einem kleinen Dorf in der Nähe von Berlin. Auf diesem Gelände leben unglaublich schöne und zum Teil außergewöhnliche Menschen. Von Studierenden, Künstler_innen, Musiker_inen bis hin zu Tischler_innen und Gärtner_innen ist alles vertreten. Das gesamte Gelände ist von Wald umgeben. Ein kleiner Fluss geht quer durchs Gelände und lädt etwas entfernt zum abendlichen Schaukeln und Senieren ein.
    Auf dem Gelände der Fabrik leben wir zu siebt in einer WG auf 600m² und legen dabei wert auf freundschaftiche und gemeinschaftliche Verbindungen. So teilen wir alle Lebensmittel, treffen uns immer wieder zu Gesprächsrunden in denen wir sowohl unsere Bauvorhaben planen, als auch über Gefühle, Gruppenprozesse und alles mögliche sprechen.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Most of the process will be learning by doing, some of it even trial and error. That's how we all learn here. Hands-on experiences guaranteed. Over the past 2 years we have gained a lot of knowlegde working with cob that we would like to share with you.
    Furthermore, we as a community, are always interested in group processes and personal growth, in which you can be part of, if you like to. You will be living together with a lot of diverse and unique characters und you will be experience a lot of out of the box approaches. Eventually it will also depend how much you are willing to put in to make it an exciting time.

    Das meiste nehmt ihr hier einfach beim konkreten Tun mit. Learning by doing. Teilweise trial and error, aber mitllerweile sind gerade auch im Lehmbau schon einige Erfahrungen aus den letzten 2 Jahren vorhanden, die wir gerne mit euch teilen.
    Außerdem sind wir als WG immer an Gruppenprozessen und persönlichen Wachstum interessiert, so werdet ihr Erfahrungen sammeln wie es ist in einer bestehenden WG mit mal mehr, mal weniger Struktur zu leben, als auch auf einem Gelände mit vielen unterschiedlichen Menschen.
    Und dann kommt es auch sehr darauf an worauf ihr so Lust habt und was ihr so reingeben wollt.

  • Help


    In one of the buildings of the factory we are building a new housing unit. We are converting the existing industrial all into a habital space. In long term we would love to see the space grow into public/ semipublic hub in different forms (artistic, social, musical, political) as soon as the most necessary structures are available.
    But thinking in short term we be needing a bathroom first with toilet, shower and bathtub. So you can help make your stay here even more comfortable. The building will be mainly using cobwork (walls, floors, some filling and fixtures) a blend of clay and straw.
    Materials and tools are available. No construction experience required, but great motivation, curiosity and fun to learn new things are essential.
    If you aren't into construction there's alwalys other subjects we can use your help with. Just let us know what you are most interested in and we see what can be done.
    In addition, we can always need help to organise small events or workshops.

    In einem der Gebäude der Fabrik bauen wir zu sechst eine neue Wohneinheit aus. Perspektivisch wollen wir mit dieser "Kapelle", sobald die nötigsten Strukturen stehen, auch in unterschiedlicher Form (künstlerisch, sozial, musikalisch, politisch) nach außen treten.
    Als nächstes bauen wir ein Badezimmer mit WC, Dusche und Badewanne. Ihr könnt also dabei helfen euren Aufenthalt hier noch komfortabler zu gestalten. Wir bauen Wände mit Stroh und Lehm (Stopflehmmethode/Leichtlehm), müssen einen Fußboden legen, Fenster einbauen u.v.m.
    Materialien und Werkzeuge sind vorhanden. Ihr braucht auch keine Bauerfahrungen, nur Motivation und Spaß daran Neues zu lernen.
    Falls Bauarbeiten nicht euer Ding sind, lasst uns wissen, was euch begeistert. Es gibt immer auch andere Bereiche, in denen wir eure Hilfe gebrauchen können, z.B. kleinere Event oder Workshops zu veranstalten.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German

  • Accommodation


    We have big guest room where up to three people can be accommodated comfortably. (If you wish for a private space let us know) A fully equiped kitchen and many more communal space. In summer we use a nearby compost toilet, which is a few steps away, but with a water view and a good eco-balance. You can shower on the grounds, or go skinny dipping in the river as most of us do. Wi-Fi is available, as well as the desire to cook and eat with you.

    In unserem Gästezimmer können bis zu drei Workawayers gemütlich schlafen und leben, außerdem gibt es viel Gemeinschaftsfläche die wir zusammen gestalten können, eine Küche mit allen was wir zum Kochen, leben und gemütlich beisammen sitzen brauchen. Im Sommer benutzen wir eine Komposttoilette, die ein paar Schritte entfernt ist, aber dafür mit Wasserblick und einer guten Ökobilanz besticht. Duschen könnt ihr auf dem Gelände, oder ihr springt wie die meisten von uns morgens in den Fluss. W-Lan ist vorhanden, ebenso wie der Wunsch danach gemeinsam mit euch zu kochen und zu essen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    With the bike or a bus you are quickly in the next city, where there are always different cultural offers (kufa, theater, concerts, parties, socio-critical events), from there you are then within 35 minutes in Berlin.
    Both on the site and in the chapel there is always the possibility to search for your own projects and to get together with people and start something new. Or just enjoy the atmosphere and relax, join cards or frisbee. The nature around us invites to hiking, cycling or swimming in the nearby lake.

    Mit dem Fahrrad oder einem Bus seid ihr schnell in der nächsten Stadt, wo es immer mal wieder unterschiedliche kulturelle Angebote (Küfa, Theater, Konzerte, Partys, gesellschaftskritische Veranstaltungen) gibt, von dort ist man dann innerhalb von 35 min auch in Berlin.
    Sowohl auf dem Gelände als auch in der Kapelle gibt es immer die Möglichkeit sich eigene Projekte zu suchen und sich mit Menschen zusammen zu tun und etwas neues zu starten. Oder einfach nur die Atmosphäre zu genießen und sich zu entspannen, bei Karten oder Frisbee zusammen zu kommen. Die Natur um uns herum lädt zum Wandern, Radfahren oder schwimmen im nahe gelegenden See ein.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Kitchen 1
Kitchen 2
Shared living space
Temporary guest room
Old brickhouse apartments with kids playground, trampoline, organic food store and pub
Factory ground from a far
People who living/ working in "the chapel"
Communal area to hang out and to have small events
Pizza oven and bar
The river "Schwärze" thats runs through the factory
Trying out the japanese wood preserving technique (Shou-sugi-ban Yakisugi)
Beech forest surrounding the area
Front side of the factory

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 951673139728