1 / 5

We'd love some help with painting, DIY, gardening and landscaping on Auckland's North Shore, New Zealand

  • New Zealand
  • Favourited 129 times
  • Last activity: 11 May 2023



 Min stay requested: 1 week or less



  • Description


    Hi there.
    Graham and I are in our 60s. Our two children 28 and 25 live elsewhere. We have space and inclination to have overseas guests come and stay with us to enjoy our particular brand of hospitality and life-style as well as help us out with jobs we either don't have the strength or time for.
    Graham is a music lover and creative cook who works in a car auction house. Ruth is an actor, director, yoga teacher and drama tutor.
    We live in a beautiful 1960s home on Auckland's North Shore about 15 minutes walk from lovely easy swimming beaches and a small village-like beach-side town. We have hosted many overseas guests over the years . We like to meet new people, to give advice on the local attractions and to discuss the world/life the universe and perhaps watch a few good movies together or visit some beautiful beaches or camping spots. Our house is large and comfortable and tidy but not too flash. Ruth's elderly mother lives down stairs and dines with us several times a week. We love reading and doing yoga and catching what sun we can on our large deck that looks over the rambling garden and sea in the distance.
    We are creative cooks and can cater for vegan, vegetarian, pescatarian, gluten or dairy free, although we do eat meat and dairy and gluten ourselves in moderation.
    We like to have a relaxed home but Ruth does like things to be kept tidy and for noise to be kept to a minimum after 11.00pm. We like to eat together and are happy to prepare most meals, but would expect any guests to help with meal preparation and dishes and any obvious housework that requires doing within reason. or look after themselves if we are not at home. We are non-smokers and the house and property is a no-smoking zone.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have often hosted travelers and we find that our guests have really enjoyed staying with us. We are friendly and caring and we like to learn about the cultures and customs of all the home countries of our guests. We like to show people around and to impart what we can of our own culture and to introduce them to our extended family in NZ.

  • Help


    We are hoping to have our visitors help for about 4-5 hours a day (weather dependent) in exchange for full board for up to 5 days at a time. We have a large garden which needs tidying up, with some planting and landscaping tasks to be taken care of. There may be lifting and digging , moving of plants, chopping down of trees and weeding involved in this. We also have a number of painting tasks both interior and exterior, involving preparing and sanding, priming and painting window sills, walls and door frames. Volunteers may need to feel comfortable with sanders or even a weed eater and chain saw, if they choose to do some of the section clearing work. The exterior of the house needs cleaning and our deck is almost ready to be washed and oiled. There may be other odd maintenance tasks and other general labour chores around house and garden. It would be great to have some evening meals prepared.
    We don't expect all of these tasks to be done by any one visitor or couple, and we will definitely ask the volunteer/s to choose the tasks that they feel most comfortable performing. We are not hard task masters, but we would appreciate the task assigned to be done thoroughly, and responsibly. We probably have a slight preference for guests in their 20's or older, however we are open to consider all ages.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    One of two bedrooms available. One room sleeps two friends in a king single and a single trundle. The other room has a double bed for couples. Both rooms have a desk a wardrobe and some drawers and internet access. The rest of the house has lounge, bathroom (with shower and bath), and the house features a large deck with sea views, dining and a small 1960s kitchen. We are not offering two rooms at the same time.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Buses are easy and close to the house with a lot of options to get into the city (20-45 minutes depending on the time of day and route chosen). If you have your own transport our house is a gateway to the North with wonderful beaches, hot pools and many touristic opportunities. We are 5 minutes drive from beaches, shoppping centres. Close to malls, golf course, gyms and city attractions.
    Ruth is a contract worker and sometimes works from home. She likes interaction, but she also likes to be left in peace at times to get work done. Weekends are spent shopping for groceries, working in the garden or going to see movies or theatre. Graham likes to chat in the evening with whomever is home, but we are also happy for guests to do their own thing. We like to eat together, we keep the house tidy and we have a shoes off inside custom and we do request that guests don't eat food in the bedrooms.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 951439516141

Feedback (6)



Restoration of Indigenous trees and biodiversity in Tirau, NZ
Stay in NZ with a Kiwi family on Waiheke Island, Auckland, New Zealand!