Learn about organic permaculture on our small farm in Itoigawa, rural Japan

Country

Japan

updated   Last minute

Favourited 330 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    67.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

 
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an English-Israeli couple, living in a 19th-century farmhouse midway between the mountains and the sea in a beautiful valley. We want to share the work and experience of living here, raising chickens and rabbits, and growing organic herbs, fruit, and vegetables.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers would learn organic permaculture farming, with a wide variety of herb and vegetable crops and chickens of various types and ages. They can also learn things like organic cooking, fish filleting, herbalism, and natural health. We serve our guests only organic food, and they have the experience of living in a 19th-century Japanese farmhouse in a beautiful rural area. In their spare time, we can show our guests the sights of the area, and guide them to other places and experiences.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with various tasks on our farm - specifically preparing animal feed, feeding animals (chickens and rabbits), harvesting and watering herbs and vegetables, and setting up enclosures and other facilities for the animals. If you have basic or better building skills, we also have an ongoing barn conversion project. We can teach you how to do all these things.
    Most of the work is not very complicated but can be hard work. This is not a petting zoo, and guests should be ready to work. Some of it happens early in the morning, so guests will need to be able to get up early.
    We have no paid staff, but the guests will work alongside us, doing the same tasks we do. We provide instruction and guidance, but will expect guests to work independently once they are familiar with tasks.
    We're looking for people who can stay for a month or more, because it takes time for volunteers to settle in and learn the work.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Hebrew: Fluent
    Japanese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A Japanese-style room (futons on tatami matting) in our home, a Meiji-era farmhouse. The room is specifically a guest bedroom. It can comfortably hold up to four. Guests can also use our gym, cinema, and other facilities.
    If we have multiple guests, they would need to share the room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Nearby attractions include hot springs (2km away), beaches and fishing port (12km), ski resort (7km), hiking, various geopark sites, and seafood and noodle restaurants. We are 10km from a train station and highway interchange, and the Shinkansen (bullet train) from the town centre gets to Tokyo in just over 2 hours.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We do not use Wifi, but we provide a LAN cable in each guest room, connecting to an optical fiber line, so the connection is fast. There is a basic laptop for volunteers who don't have their own, and one guest room has a private desk space. I work from home as a freelance translator, and have for 28 years in many countries, so I'm familiar with the lifestyle.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 25 hours / week

Roosty, perched in front of the house
The guest room
A random selection of harvested food
Looking down the valley from us at sunset.
Me (Matt), and one of our younger chickens
Our cats and chickens get along well together.
The barn, soon to be extensively remodeled
Looking up the valley from the farm, towards the ski slope
Our house at sunset
One of our mother hens with her chicks
A recent volunteer spending time with the chicks

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (3.5)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 948172622562