Gardening help at a historical family home in the middle of the city, Turku, Finland

Country

Finland

Favourited 34 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/08/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our family lives in Turku at southern coast of Finland. We live in historical house that we are renovating at famous old Kakola prison area in the middle of the city, near everything. River&restaurant boats, museums, Turku Castle, parks, many kind of sport facilities, market place and all services are at walking or biking distance. Depending of week we have 3-8 kids in the house so I don't allways have enough time for all gardening, building, new projects and maintenance of the house.
    I'm very active with kids, relaxad but ambitious considering working, like and try to be tidy but often living in middle of some messy chaos. I'm also spontaneous, social, funny and artistic.
    We all love different kind of culture events, museums, animals, board games and outdoor games in the garden, traveling, boating, nature excursions and hikes.

    We love to meet new people, do things together and show our home town and maybe some other parts of Finnland. Welcome to our family!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can teach you finnsh culture and language, offer you traditional and modern finnish foods to taste and you can try sauna & summer cottage traditions. If you are intrested of finnish recycling, educational, healtcare or social system we can show and tell you how it works. Or if you are intrested of some other aspect of finnish culture like heavy music, art etc. we are very willing to help you with that.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    This year new and eternal projects includes buildind new stone paths, terrace, waterfall and fence.
    Painting some outside and some inside walls.
    Weeding, lot of weeding and other gardening.
    Building some new walls and sauna.
    And finishing many old projects.
    If you are intrested you can sometimes take part some of my art projects.

    We have so many different kinds of tasks that we can find something to do almost anyone with some skills. We are flexible considering when you do your hours but we are really expecting you do to those efficiently. So please do not apply if you don't want to do things we have listed here or you are not able to help in those. Consider that many of these takes some physical streght Sometimes might also rain and we don't have many indoor tasks at the moment.

    We hope you are also self-guided if you see something that needs to be done, diligent, can follow instructions and work intepentedly.

    Cleaning your own room and toilet, helping at meal times and some other normal participating to daily chores are naturally expected.

  • Languages spoken

    Finnish: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate
    Sami: Intermediate
    Swedish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation will be in our garden house (in the picture) for more private stay or sometimes in our guestroom/library if cabin is booked.
    You will have breakfast stuff in your own cabin. You can take part to our lunch or dinner or both when we are home and cooking. Times may vary. Other times we will provide you ingredients for preparing your meals. Other possibility is to use some of your working hours to prepare meals for whole family if you are into cooking .
    We eat normal finnish and international kid friendly food. We prefer no special diets but if you have some we can try to make some arrengements.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can find info what to do and must see things from these pages.


  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 947646939912