Help out with some projects on our little farm in the breathtaking Creston Valley, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are living in the breathtaking Creston Valley. We are about a 15 minute drive from Creston. Our home is situated in Wynndel British Columbia. We moved here three and a half years ago, to this amazing place, where everything grows!! We have just under 10 acres, of farm land. A small brook that runs through the property. A large garden, fruit trees, nut trees, berry bushes.
    We own a small flock of Iclanic sheep, two milking goats, 3 kids, (Goat Kids that is) 2 dogs, a cat and bees!
    We have a very busy little farm. There is always something to do, and always somewhere to find Peace here. We just love it. We live to be outside and enjoy evenings by the fire pit as often as possible, its a great time to get to know one another. Markus is from Switzerland, and I (Tracey) am Canadian born. You will enjoy home cooked meals with us. Hopefully you like fresh bread!!
    I'm a vegetarian , (Tracey), Markus is a part time vegetarian ...that enjoys meat occasionally! However, you are free to eat your way!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You may learn to run and maintain small machinery, building skills, bee keeping, gardening. We preserve all of our own fruit and vegetables, so there is dehydrating, freezing, canning that you could learn also, if you were interested. You can learn about the beautiful Iclandic sheep and lambs, as well as the goats. Learn how to milk goats, make yogurt and soft goat cheese!

  • Help

    Help

    We are headed into our third exciting spring here in Wynndel. So there is a lot to do. Gardening, weeding, planting, harvesting. Fruit trees to care for...fruit to pick. bushes and berries, walnuts in the fall. We have plans to rebuild our Italian pizza wood fired oven, (we moved it with us from our previous home) so there will be many different tasks to this project. (masonry skills would be handy!) We also have plans to make some changes in the buildings that are here, the barn needs a storage area to be built, (shelving and such) There is also lawn mowing, and fencing.
    The sheep and goats need care, with overall health and hoof trimming, as well as the irritation maintenance. Exercise the dogs with a lovely walk in the bush. Depending on the time of year, maybe we will make sauerkraut together, or press apples. We have a lot of fun here, its not all work for sure!!

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We will provide a clean, cozy room with a queen sized bed. You will have a bathroom of your own. You will eat with us, however you are also welcome to make yourself at home and when you are hungry, you must eat!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are asking that you help us, five days a week, six hours days. You will be free to adventure when you're done during the day, and weekends. you will need your own vehicle. We do have two bicycles that can be used.
    There is hiking, swimming, fishing. We are minutes away from Kootenay Lake, Kootenay River, Duck lake, Goat river and many, many more breathtaking places.
    We live a life that is respectful of nature, animals, and one another. We take one day at a time, prioritize what needs attention, and do our best work on each project. We also expect our guests to respect nature, animals, and one another, as well as taking care of equipment, tools, and our home the same way that we do. We want you to enjoy your time with us, so good communication is a must...feel free to share your thoughts, ideas, or concerns.
    We are non-smokers, and hope that our new friends are as well:)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 6 hrs a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 946944122377