Help a busy family of five living on the Northwest coast of Ireland.

Country

Ireland

Favourited 28 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/10/2019

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a busy family of five living on the Northwest coast of Ireland. We run a small sheep farm and my husband and I also work full time off the farm. We live on a headland projecting into the Atlantic Ocean with a beach either side of us. We're passionate about our local community, rural development and raising our children to be responsible citizens and effective contributors. We love animals (two dogs live in the house), camping and spending time at the beach.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in the Gaeltacht region of Ireland so there is ample opportunity to learn about Irish heritage and culture, aswell as the Irish language. With the sea on our doorstep and the famous hills of Donegal all around there's plenty of opportunity to engage in outdoor pursuits such as hiking or surfing. We will welcome you into our family and you will live as one of our own. As for what you could learn- my children will teach you patience!

  • Help

    Help

    My husband and I both work full time off the farm, he works normal office hours and I work 3-4 nights per week. We have three children, aged 8, 6 and 3. We're looking for help with general farm maintenance such as fencing and maybe some help around the house.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English. Small amount of Gaeilge

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own bedroom and share a bathroom with the family. The bedroom is downstairs while the family sleep upstairs. Our house is a new build, only 5 years old. You can join us for family meals and the fridge and pantry are always open.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live close to slieve league, the highest cliff face in Europe. Where we live is remote and public transport is poor but if you have a full clean drivers licence and are over 25 the family car will be available for you to borrow. Our location means a lengthy drive to many amenities but there's a small village only two miles away and Ireland's premier fishing port, Killybegs, is only 6 miles away. I can arrange for you to visit other parts of Ireland on your time off, staying with my friends and family.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

Host ref number: 946588618855