Come and help with horses near Magheralin, Northern Ireland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 129 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2021

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    the house is detached and set in a rural area about 10 mins drive to train station where a train can be taken to explore Northern Ireland or South of Ireland. there are local buses too 5 mins walk away and a small village 10 mins walk away and a larger village with restaurants, pubs, shops, stalls etc 20 mins walk away. the house has 5 stables 3 occupied by the 3 horses but the horses live out most of the year but when they are in they have to be mucked out and groomed etc. but that's a pleasant task for anywho who loves horses. they are American quarter horses so we ride cowboy style and sometimes bareback. the horses are very gentle. I have a few farms nearby owned by neighbours who are very nice people too. it is quiet and relaxing environment. there is a patio for sitting out and reading and watching the horses play in the field and for sipping a cold beer or glass of vino in the summer evenings. we sometimes have bbqs with friends round and its good fun. We are very interest in cultural exchange and learning new languages.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    they can learn about the particular breed of horse, experience life in a rural part of NI but be close enough to travel to major cities town in NI and Ireland. I have a large family who live in other parts of the country and England and the person can travel and also stay with them during the exchange if they wished to experience more. they can brush up on their English if they wish to and teach a little bit of their native language to the owners who iare open and receptive to learning about new cultures and new languages.

  • Help

    Help

    Hello, my home is situated in a rural part of Northern Ireland. I have American quarter horses that need to groomed looked after and exercised and a handsome black cat who asks for lots of affection and company in the daytime. There is the house to be looked after and some general clean up to be done as I work full time out of the house but return most evenings. it would be good to have someone to look after things Monday-Friday with weekends of where they can investigate the countryside themselves or go visit Northern Ireland/Ireland's attractions. There are 5 stables but the horses live out most of the time but some tasks might require removing dung from the stables/yard. it is a very relaxed atmosphere with beautiful trees and peacefulness.There is a village within 20 mins walking distance, I am hoping to learn another language so would be keen for a work away to share some of their language skills and I am happy to coach in English if they would wish to have that. I will provide a warm comfortable room and access to computer, tv and provide food etc in exchange for help with horses, the house and some maintenance. so experience with horses would be a real advantage. We are interested in cultural exchange and learning new languages including spanish, french and others. Also learning how to cook diferent foods from different countries and exchanging that cultural diveristy.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    exchange person will have their own room in the house, is warm and comfortable and peaceful. access to cooker, tv, computer internet etc. I would hope the workaway would do some cooking although this can be shared at weekends and we can share that cultural exchange.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    helpers can go visit NI's Titanic Quarter and building its becoming one of the biggest attractions in Europe. Also the giants causeway. They will have the opportunity to go riding in the forest and beach in NI learn about irish culture visit places of historic interest and including walks in the mountains if that is of interest to them. a typical weekend is a bit of a ly in - as I work all week - nice healthy breakfast - out to groom the horses and head away to the forest or beach or ride on the country lanes. friends come around or we go visit friends who also have horses. watch a few movies, read books, go to yoga class and meditation, listen to nice music, go walking in the mountains, eat out sometimes pizza, Indian food as there is a local curry restaurant 15 mins drive away. there are always jobs to be done ie powerhosing the patio, maybe planting a few bulbs for the spring. There is a gardener so no heavy gardening required. painting the stables tidying up the tack room etc. it is a pretty cook lifestyle. I expect people to be quiet around the house but good conversation, for them to welcome visitors friends and share their experiences and culture also to be clean and tidy about the place. although this is sometimes hard when you work with horses and come in from the fields with hay etc on your clothes!! but that is ok ...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 944684372949