Be a part of the magic at our family run permaculture property near Melbourne, VIC Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 285 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    30  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    3924

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello there!

    We are Clare & Paul, we run our own family home farm in harmony with the land and (as much as possible) in accordance with permaculture and earth loving biodynamic principles.

    We have a variety of delicious 100% spray free vegetables growing which we take to market on the weekend, we have happy chickens out on pasture living in busses, sheep roaming around, a lovely rose garden and a fruitful orchard with a large variety of apples, citrus, figs, plums, nectarines and more..

    We are right on the Western Port Bay so very close to the beach, nature reserves, Phillip Island & the fairy penguins, 5 minutes from Koo Wee Rup and Tooradin town centers, and about 15-20 minutes from more major shopping towns of Cranbourne and Pakenham.

    On the end of a quiet dirt road our 60 acre property is home to us and our spirited and adorable 1 year old baby Matilda, 15 sheep, our happy pasture fed chooks, our beloved bengal tabby cat Maximus, a very very cheeky and loveable kelpie pup, Bella.

    We're looking for people to come and help out around the farm and exchange knowledge of growing food, cooking and eating the food we grow, sustainability and living simply on the land.

    We really appreciate people who are keen to get up with us and the birds, get their hands dirty and lend a hand with the big picture of what we're creating out here.. Ethical, sustainable food grown with love and in harmony with the earth and becoming a part of our big happy family in the process!

    Some days there's lots of physical work to do to keep you fit and active, and some days are perfect for just relaxing or helping around the farm and of course enjoying the sunshine and going on a adventures on your days off! :)

    We are looking forward to hearing from you if this sounds like a good fit for what you're looking for...

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We both LOVE to travel the world and feel very excited to have world travellers helping on our land & homestead now that we have a slice of paradise to share.

    Between us we have a lot of skills and knowledge in many areas other than farming having spent a lot of time in India, Central & South America, Asia and Europe travelling, working and studying cultures, yoga, art, martial arts, spirituality, music and more..

    We really enjoy sharing healthy, home grown, vibrant meals, cooking skills, music and conversation.

    Clare also runs retreats and sessions on the land and courses in Melbourne focussing on spiritual development, singing, sacred women's business and more.. though she's much more focussed on being a mum to Matilda right now and taking their amazing veggies & eggs to farmers markets on the weekends! :)

  • Help

    Help

    We need a bit of help each day with various tasks - they differ from day to day.

    There is always lots to do around the farm such as mowing the lawn on the ride on mower (fun!), building structures on site, planting seeds, weeding and watering garden beds, picking veggies to eat, collecting eggs from the hens and hopefully you will be sharing your own skills and knowledge with us too! :)

    We are working on a beautiful permaculture garden and would love some extra hands for that project..

    Such is the nature of living on the land, we recommend our workaways have a good level of physical health/fitness coming to the farm as the work can sometimes be quite physically demanding (some days more than others). If this is an issue, please let us know right away so we can be sure to arrange less physical tasks for you to enjoy.

    Other than that we love help sharing the cooking of the main meals of the day & keeping the homestead & the big farm shed clean and garden tidy.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private caravan with bedding all included (one double bed one single bed).

    We also have a tent available in summer for those who prefer privacy and sleeping on a mattress on the earth.

    Also, we have just converted the Old 1920's Dairy into The Winter Room with a beautiful cosy wood fire, three layers of flooring (rubber mats, carpet AND rugs) plus comfy cushions, couches, coffee table, tea, kettle, mugs, etc for maximum comfort & relaxation for all to enjoy during break times and in the evenings during the colder winter months... :) so nice!!!

    The main Bathroom/shower (until we complete the new shower in the old dairy) is currently shared with Paul, Clare & Matilda in the house so care during sleep times is requested & appreciated & help in keeping the place tidy is definitely necessary.

    There is an outdoor 'dunny' (loo) for that classic Australian experience! ;)

    A support abundance of fresh organic veggies & eggs on offer to eat every day too of course that you can pick yourself!

    Lunch & Dinner are shared meals cooked communally from the amazing variety of food we grow ourselves and breakfast is 'help yourself' to museli, eggs, toast, fruit etc. :) Please BYO 'special ingredients' and luxury items and things you need for yourself or we can take you to the supermarket if you need.

    There is a laundromat in Koo Wee Rup for washing your clothes as we are on limited tank water due to drought but hand-washing is also available in the homestead & 'big shed'.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in a great location only 1 hour bus trip from Melbourne - bus leaves from Southern Cross directly to Koo Wee Rup.

    There is a lot to see and do in the local area and further afield too. Koo Wee Rup and Tooradin have many lovely cafes & second hand shops to enjoy an afternoon off or relax away a morning.

    20 Minutes away is the Pearcedale Moonlit Sanctuary to experience native Australian wildlife & little further than that is the Mornington Penninsula with Hot Springs & beautiful beaches.

    Local beaches are only a short 20 - 30 minute drive and on lovely days we offer workaways to come with us to enjoy the sunshine and rest by the ocean.

    Melbourne is a thriving metropolis & a bus departs from Koo Wee Rup central & will take you to Cranbourne & Pakenham train stations which will then take you to Melbourne City.

    Or there is a direct bus from Melbourne to Koo Wee Rup that runs many times a day from Southern Cross Station! This is the best way to get to our farm - we will pick you up from the bus stop.

    If you have your own car/van then you can easily get yourself to the city or perhaps take yourself to see the wild life at Wilsons Prom, fairy Penguins at Phillip Island, the beaches and Hot Springs along the Mornington Peninsula, amazing beaches, gourmet food, transformational workshops, concerts, diverse culture & nightlife the 'Garden State' of Victoria has to offer!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
























Host ref number: 943551481369