Help with organic nut-plantation and reforestation near the Serra da Estrela, Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 59 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small Austrian/Portuguese family (Tania(26), Zaya(2), Leo(0.1) and Joe(31)) and since 2017 we live parttime on our beautiful 16ha near the Serra da Estrela. Our south-east-valley is 2km away from the small village Fiaes, where it seems that time stood still for a few decades. Next biggest town is Trancoso, about 10mins by car.

    We are in the middle of establishing a commercial nut-farm (walnuts, macadamias, auracarias) as well as setting up our own little paradise with a huge garden. Since we only need part of our land to farm and to live, reafforestation is a huge concern for us and a big job on its own.

    In 2019 we will build a roundwood-timberframe-tinyhouse with a sodroof on our land, help will be needed and welcome.

    If you are good with children you can help us keep our daughter Zaya (2-ish) happy and give Tania a hand with our newborn.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will always benefit from a cultural exchange if they walk around with their eyes and minds open! Together we will enjoy good meals with recipes from around the world, long discussions about everything that is going on in the world and beyond and most important having and making fun about pretty much anything and anyone.

    We did a lot of traveling and wwoofing ourselfs in many countries of the world, we have seen and experienced a lot, both good and bad (and very bad), so we try to be the best hosts possible.

    We welcome anyone from anywhere who is willing to share their stories, adventures, recipes and ideas. Even french people.

  • Help

    Help

    Building:
    Lots of roundwood-timber-framing going on in upcoming spring/summer.
    A sturdy roof will go over our caravan, which sits in the middle of a 1ha walnut-plantation.
    A tiny house will be built in summer/late summer.

    Reafforestation:
    Pregrown plants of 2018 will go in the ground in spring 19. A lot of bamboo will be planted around our big water-retention-spaces.
    More trees will be seeded and pregrown in pots for 2020.

    General work:
    Of course there is a minimum amount of the dreaded weeding around the newly planted trees to be done...
    Reclaiming overgrown land (strimming, slashing, burning) - good and manly work.
    Extending our nut-production.

    To be very clear:
    We are looking for volunteers with enthusiasm for what we do, who have the capacity to help unsupervised, have respect for others and at least a shred of common-sense.
    Physical fitness and (self)discipline is a must.
    That being said its a cruisy type of work and a lot of fun.
    If you are the type of person who walks around constantly looking at your smartphone please do not bother coming here - I will personally bury the both of you.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Portuguese, German, English, Austrian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We are fortunate to have a house at our disposal (in Fiaes, 2km away from the farm)
    You will have a own room and a shared bathroom/toilet/shower with hot water.
    If you are a bit of an adventures type or you like your privacy you can also stay in our big caravan, you might have to wrestle me for it because I have my eye on it too. The view and the scenery from our valley is truly something to behold.
    Food is plentiful and rather opportunistic, we enjoy vegetarian dishes as much as the occasional fish and meat. If you are a vegan you are going to die here.
    Since we have a huge family in this village with lots of aunties having plentiful gardens, in summer we get drowned in fresh homegrown veggies.
    We try to buy in as much stuff organic as we can, but in Portugal this has proven quite difficult.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Stuff to do:
    In summer we occasionally visit a nearby dam to swim and hang out at the "beach". Its not overrun and very cosy.
    Trancoso is a mediaeval town with a tranquil flair. The wall around the town is still intact and together with the renovated castle on top of the city quite sensational. Lots of little winding alleyways between the old stone-buildings offer the odd bar to check out.
    If you are into hiking you are in for a treat.
    If you like bouldering you can have a go at the big granite rocks at our land.

    Transport:
    Trainstation of "Celorico de Baira" is the nearest stop. Wed pick you up from there.
    Bus connection directly to Trancoso. Wed pick you up there.

    Else:
    Phone-Reception (3G/4G) is quite good on all the land.
    Next hospital is in Guarda, about 35mins by car.
    We provide our very limited internet (1gb/month) to check your emails and do the occasional lookup. In case you need to download more, there are plenty of free-internet-cafes in town.
    Wed prefer non smoking people
    No dogs please, the last experience with a dog was disastrous to say the least.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

VIP visitors from Belgium :)
Thats us
View from the top of our land to Guarda/Spain
Our retention bays after one heavy rain
Amazing rocky and wild land around us
Our biggest retention space, enough to take a swim..




Host ref number: 942683459959