Welcome to our slice of rural Wairarapa, New Zealand - looking for green fingers to help out

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/12/2018

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, my family (my wife caroline and 2 young boys - Louis 4 and Alfie 2) recently moved to a 6 acre block in Masterton region of the Wairarapa as we looked to escape the hustle of busy city life and try to put the 'life' back in 'work life balance'. However as usual we've bitten off a fair bit and could do with some assistance as we look to settle in and help the property reach its potential.

    Ideally we would like someone who is can assist with the gardening and is pretty handy with general maintenance and there’s heaps to do!!

    We have a lovely self contained cottage from which you can base yourself.

    We hope to hear from you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The wairarapa and in particular masterton is a stunning part of NZ offering a great mix of city convenience and rural living. You would have a self contained cottage that you could use as your base as you look to explore the area - from the rugged east coast to the wineyards of martinborough or perhaps just tramping through the tararuas. In terms of our property, we have aspirations to be self sufficient and organic from a fruit, vegetable and protein (meat) perspective, As this is a blank canvas it presents as a great opportunity to learn or perhaps for you to teach should you have experience in this space.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people to help us in the garden, it’s big and has some beautiful roses and other flowers but the weeds are taking over. In addition we have aspirations of being self reliant so looking to setup fruit and veggie gardens. This would suit people who look forward to spending days in the garden listening to the birdsong.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have self contained cottage available and we can negotiate how we manage things like food. There will be a fridge and cooker in the cottage should you prefer to be self sufficient.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 942592674996