updated  

We try to develop our little slice of heaven according to the permaculture principles in Ea H'leo, Vietnam

  • Favourited 255 times
  • Last activity: 13 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi there, we're Thủy, Jack, Bông and Tai. Jack is from the Netherlands and Thủy and kids from Vietnam of course. As a family we moved to this area to try and live a self sustainable and minimalist lifestyle. We try to develop our little slice of heaven according to the permaculture principles. We're surrounded by a growing community of people who have similar ideas and ways of life.

    Our final goal is to take care of as much of our needs as we can ourselves and create no waste in the process. Also we want to be a part of our community and help new families settle in quicker.
    It's still a long way before we get there and we need help with getting it all up and running.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a small community of people who live very simply. Many times this involves using the old Vietnamese ways of doing things. So this will give the volunteer a very good view into what life was like in Vietnam not so long ago. Strong cultural ties are necessary in a community like this as everyone helps everyone.

    We're also surrounded by farm lands that are worked by present day Vietnamese farmers and farming style, so this is also a very good look into how good is produced and processed in Vietnam.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Because we're still setting things up the kind of help we would need it very diverse. It can go from building a goat shelter to planting trees or veggies to gathering firewood to digging swales or a pond. This will always be together with us and sometimes other people from our community. Any skills are appreciated, but it's also a learning experience for everyone involved. We try to use what we have and otherwise use natural materials as much as possible. We'll try to implement and build things that'll last as long as possible while making our lives easier. So anyone's contribution will hopefully be with us for a long time.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Vietnamese: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll be staying in a separate little house that's half storage/workshop and half accommodation. There's a toilet in the room (compost toilet) but the shower is in our house and will be shared. Eventually we hope to have an extra shower, that might be one of the projects you'll be involved in.

    Volunteers will get three meals a day for their efforts. Maybe in exceptional cases only the ingredients and a way to prepare their meal.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area is quite remote, but there are a few towns at driving distance. Getting here will be by bus that'll drop you off at the main highway.

    In our free time we usually walk around the area to explore. There are many small paths to discover all the way up to the local hills/mountains. There's also a nice waterfall where you can swim.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 941667116886

Feedback (1)

Feedback


Staying with a very lovely family in Hanoi, Vietnam
Explore Vietnamese culture while helping around our hostel in Hai PHong, Vietnam