Plumbing, tiling, decorating help needed in Galway, West coast of Ireland



Favourited 108 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Good Host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We can only take 1 person. Please read the profile and requirements carefully before emailing.

    We are a mature, quiet and friendly married couple and live in rural Galway on the west coast of Ireland. My husband works in the city and I work from home as a writer.

    Our home is about 26 kilometres from Galway city and about 4 kilometres from the lovely little town of Kinvara.

    We are also close to the beautiful Burren in County Clare where there are some great country walks, and further on are the amazing cliffs of Moher.

    We live a mile from a beautiful little bay and fisherman's pier. We walk there each day with our friendly little dog, Eppie. When the sun sets on this little bay it is truly beautiful.

    We live a quiet and peaceful life and keep hens and ducks. We are developing our messy 1 and 1/2 acre garden and grow fruit and vegetables. If you like a quiet life you'll like it here if not - we advise you to stay closer to Galway city.

    We provide a comfortable room with own ensuite.

    I am not a great cook but do my best and hope to find a guest who does not mind helping themselves to breakfast and lunch and who might help sometimes with dinner. Food provided of course.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    During this cultural exchange and you will improve your English. Learn about gardening and nature in Ireland.

    During your time off - you will be able to visit some beautiful cultural and heritage sites, go walking or cycling in the nearby and beautiful burren.

  • Help


    At the moment we have some specific plumbing needs and if you are applying please be experienced.

    Please note the weather in Ireland is very changeable. Sadly it rains a lot - even in summer so you need waterproofs and appropriate footwear.

    I am looking for a pleasant and flexible person to do plumbing work, maybe some work in the garden, house painting, and general handy work and maintenance around the house and garden.

    If you want to help in the garden that's great but note that we have poor soil with a lot of rocks and it can be hard work. We do not use chemicals.

    Please do not apply if you have back or other physical health problems as this work will not suit you.

    Our food likes are flexible but we prefer healthy food, mostly vegetarian with fish and occasional meat - if you prefer more meat that is no problem we will provide that for you.

    I don't like cooking so if you shared that with me that would be great.

    You must be clean and tidy up after yourself.

    We hope to host an independent person who wants to explore beautiful Galway and doesn't spend all their free time in the house with us, as we are quiet and like our own space.

    We are flexible and hope you are too. You will have most weekends and evenings free to explore the beautiful west of Ireland and we are very well situated on the Wild Atlantic Way.

    We prefer non-smokers but if you do you could smoke outside the house.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We have a nice house and 1 and half acre semi-wild garden. A comfortable ensuite bedroom will be provided with its own TV and DVD player, desk , armchair, radio, shower and toilet and lovely views.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in the country side but there are some rural buses which go into the city at certain times of the day from a bus stop very near our house. There is also a bus that goes to the Cliffs of Moher.

    We prefer non-smokers but if you do you can smoke outside.

    We can also let you have use of a bike - if you wish to cycle - there are some lovely places to go.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 937915857117