Upcoming projects, finish the underground vegetable garden, make pallet furniture, sustainable raised beds, making a coppice fence and more.

Country

France

Favourited 58 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    206

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We need volunteers from end March 2018.

    Our project is based on inclusiveness, permaculture and sustainability. The core criteria for everything we are designing is "can it be accessed by a wheelchair or zimmer frame" where possible. We have built a cob house for the chickens which was great fun and hard work. The Wallipini garden is dug out and we are putting on the roof. We made the donkey shelter out of pallets. It also has a solar electric fence, water harvesting and plastic bottle insulated walls where possible. We will be as self sustainable as possible. We plan to extend the outside shower block into a one bedroom cottage with straw bales, then covered in cob and Lyme washed. We intent to build a natural swimming pool.

    What has changed since we started is that we are now looking to have as many different ways of sustainable living as possible and hoping to be able to show case these on the land.

    The land will be accessible for all (as far as we can) so everyone can enjoy tending the vegetable patch, collecting the eggs and the cob cottage will be on one level.

    It's a really exciting project and one that is flexible so we can adapt for new ideas as we go if we wish to tweak or find new ideas. We really need volunteers to help as, although we are fit for our age, we do not have the strength that we used to. But we love chatting and being with people and cooking so you will be fed well and our priority is to look after our volunteers well.

    We are both english but live in France. We have four dogs, a cat 10 chickens and 3 donkeys plus a baby donkey. We are hoping our families will be coming to visit us often as we are very family orientated and our families live all over the world. I bought this "summer camp" because I fell in love with the area and land.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    These are interesting projects that all interwork so everyone will get an opportunity to have a try at everything. The cob buildings will be built one layer per week (which gives them a week to dry before the next layer goes on) so when the layer is done the garden will be built or other projects will be done.

    The Wallipini vegetable garden is effectively a underground greenhouse and have raised beds so it will be an inclusive garden. Access will be easy for everyone and because it is raised elderly and wheelchair users will be able to enjoy harvesting it as well. We aim for all our projects on the land to be inclusive. So the swimming pool will have a beach (ramp) to enter rather than steps.

    The whole project is very inspiring and is an opportunity to build unusual projects from planning to the finished product.

    Inspiration and ideas will be coming from a friend who runs a charity which focuses on sustainable farming in Tanzania, my nephew who will be trained in Australia in permaculture and another nephew who works at a permaculture school in Oregan USA. We are hoping that all 3 of them will be here for the projects.

  • Help

    Help

    The land is 2.5 hectares near the Lot river close to Puy L'eveque which is about 1.5 hours north of Toulouse, SW France.

    We are planning several projects to start in April 2018.

    Straw build extension to make a one bedroom cottage.

    Make a coppice fence.

    Adding roof to wallipini

    Sorting out the right plants for the wallipini, the hanging garden and the rubble sacks.

    Improving water harvesting.

    Cob smokehouse.

    Cob outside seating area with cob sofa.

    Making a natural swiming pool.

    Extending the edible forest.

    Planting on a small flood plain. Sourcing right plants etc.

    Renovations to house in rainy weather.

    Make a long pathway across the land.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Currently the house and land is a summer camp for teenagers. By next April we plan to have the house habitable, it may not be beautiful but all the facilities will be on which means everyone will have a bed.

    There is plenty of land if anyone prefers to camp. There will be 3 meals a day catered for you and we are happy to cater for any special dietary needs where possible. There will always be a vegetarian option and, if requested, a vegan option. There will be one day off a week for me from cooking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The local town is called Puy L'eveque. It is beautiful. Right on the river Lot. The river is about a 10 minute walk from the house and is huge. Boating, fishing, canoeing etc can be done. The town is about 1.3km so easy to bike in.

    We will have a couple of bikes and if possible I will get another couple by then. We have 4 dogs and a cat at present but no doubt this will have expanded by next year. We plan to have a couple of speciality sheep and alpacas just for breeding. And lots of chickens to help maintain the vegetable plot.

    We now have 4 donkeys, one who is 2 months old.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Donkey shelter build from pallets.
We made a cob chicken house.
The wallipini first planting.
The wonderful 3. So loving and gentle.
Donkey love.
Making our Wallipini garden with ramp to accessible to all.
Dogs with their leader up front.
The hounds of baskerville.
Outside shower block which we would like to take down to build a 2 bedroom cob cottage
Poorly neglected house
More of the front garden.
The front garden


Host ref number: 937315285871