Help us with gardening with beautiful landscape and enhoyr Country life in Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 136 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    28  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    197

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Anne, I´m a designer, teacher, gardener, language-lover. I´m married to a traveller, who often travels in foreign countries: Ralf, an engineer, discoverer and an inventor. He has got a motorbike and away he goes...

    We live in a large house with a wide garden and some hectares of land and forest, so there is always a lot to do.
    I like guests very much, they bring the world to my house - but I also like to have some help ;-).
    You belong to the family, you will meet our relatives and friends, you have your room next to ours. We work together, cook together and learn languages, collect herbs, make campfires, music, have fun. I like you to stay at least 11 days up to 2,5 weeks. Couples are welcome.
    We prefer guests from about 27 years up to 72.

    I was born january 22nd in 1961 and lived nearly my whole life on my parent´s farm except of 8 years studying and marrying. My sons were born 1987 and 1990 and live in other towns, but the elder one (Max) is coming often, the younger one (Hans) is living too far away. My sister Christiane is an illustrator and a languagelover as well and often comes for a visit. Many of my friends and some neighbours are interested in my workaway guests, so it will never get boring.

    My home is a huge farm house with two guest rooms, 4 km away from the next town (26.000 inhabitants), close to woods and several dams (barrages, presas) inmidst nature. We like swimming a lot, you can do it naked or dressed - but people from warm countries find the water cold. We have colorful autumns with lots of mushrooms in the woods and rather cold winters with sometimes snow but also cold/rainy weather, a late spring with millions of birds singing, summers with temparatures between 15 and 35 Grad. In June you can watch a lot of glowworms in the hedges, which is absolutely magical.
    We have a dog, a cat, some chicken. We heat mostly with wood from our woods and drink our own water.
    I´m writing creative books and magazines about arty things or handcrafts, the last one was about handlettering, but also I have a huge garden where I grow vegetables, berries, fruit and perennials. In winter I´m selling seeds on a few markets.
    At the moment I´m wrking as an art teacher in the middleschool nearby. One day the week I´m working in a primary school. We work and paint and saw and do pottery and many other things.
    I give creative courses from time to time in my big workshop or in other places like the town library.
    I soon will open a tattoo-workshop as soon as my engagement in school ends.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I´m curious and like to meet foreign people, I like to speak in different languages. You can do farming and other things, you can learn about garden-plants and medical plants. In the garden you can have campfires and you can enjoy nature, collect and prepare mushrooms with me, learn about cooking and baking German specialities like Schwarzwälder-Kirsch-Torte and Grünkohl mit Pinkel. You may have a look into other peoples´s houses, I invite my guests to visit relatives and friends. If you like to learn German: I´m a good teacher, which is also part of my life (teaching children). I can drive you to the bus-station, so you can visit others places on your own, like the castle of Burg in Solingen, the cathedral in Köln (cologne) or whatever. Help me improve my English, Francais o Espaniol of Nederlands.
    You will probably gain some weight because of the nice food in my house ;-)

  • Help

    Help

    I need help with repairing and building fences, in the garden and in the woods (digging, planting, cutting), repairing the barn, harvesting (in automn), with painting. There ist also a lot of cleaning to do. A carpenter would be extremely welcome and would find a lot of tasks to do - work, that I´m not very good in. I would like to improve my English, Francais, Espaniol or Nederlands.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house is huge, with 2 floors, bureaus, workshops, rooms and XL-Kitchen with fireplace. There is one small guest-room with a single bed about 8 qm and one big guest-room with about 22qm, 2 matrasses, a sleeping-sofa, table, W-Lan etc.. You may as well use our big kitchen, a living room and a bathroom with shower and toilet. A cat and a dog are living in the house, you should not have allergies. I like cooking very much, so you will always have nice meals. If you don´t eat meat, I may use vegetable ingredients, if you don´t eat butter and eggs, you have to prepare your own meals. We have an own fountain 31m deep with nice water and there are always fruit to eat.
    You can come alone or with a friend, couple or singles. Smokers should smoke outside, in the house we don´t like smoking.
    The best time to come here is May, the birds are singing as if it was the last day in their life, it is about 18-22°, often sunny, pretty flowers everywhere, trees in fresh green. My favourite season! September and October are mostly sunny and woods are colorful, mushrooms are growing and we are harvesting. Nice temperatures, not hot like in summer.
    In January/February we often have snow and it´s cold, about -12° up to +3°, but the sun is shining sometimes and as well we have pretty icy/frosty landscape/creeks/woods which look magic.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You should like nature, which is surrounding this place completely. The landscape is hilly and there is plenty of water, like creeks, little rivers, dams/barrages. Ideal for being outdoor.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

talsperre barrage dam
The place we live - house with red roof
my family
our house
guest room

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

















Host ref number: 936473894588