1 / 5
updated  

Help us grow our dream garden on beautiful Vancouver Island, Canada

  • Favourited 41 times
  • Last activity: 13 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Let me introduce myself to you…My husband Rob and myself, Michelle live in the beautiful Cowichan Valley on Vancouver Island. A little over a year ago we purchased a small acreage and have big dreams about creating a small homestead. Recently we have been working on creating a garden and small orchard. We have a self contained private studio that would suit a single person or couple. We once were travellers ourselves but love connecting with different cultures and people. And I love showing visitors the best our island has to offer!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you love the outdoors, the Cowichan Valley and all of Vancouver island has so much to offer. I personally have a love of hiking and mountain biking. But it’s said you can hike, surf, swim, and ski all in one day on our beautiful island. I’d love to share all the local hot spots of where we live. Or if quiet is what you need our little country home with a pool provides that too.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are starting a large garden from scratch. General help, establishing flower and vegetable beds, weeding and yard maintenance. I’d love some knowledge about permaculture and homesteading as I’m new to this. But of course experience is not necessary, we can learn together!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a private self contained studio with strong wifi, Complete with queen size bed, private bathroom and kitchenette. There’s a pool and hot tub on our property that you are welcome to use. All food is provided, however you are responsible to create your own breakfast and lunch . I will provide a home cooked dinner each evening for all to enjoy.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your time off there many outdoor activities you can enjoy. Hiking, biking, swimming are just a few options. We live about 15 min drive from Duncan and 20 min from Lake Cowichan. There is a bus service near my home.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have decent internet in the self contained studio

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a large driveway and plenty of room to park a van or vehicle.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 935753561748

Feedback (4)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Looking for two people to help with gardening, harvesting, child care, dishes and dog walking on Gabriola, BC, Canada
Help in my garden, painting a metal fence in my beautiful home Victoria, Canada