Help us begin the journey of our lavender farm in Banska Bystrica/Detva, Slovakia

Country

Slovakia (Slovak Republic)

Favourited 69 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We, a couple in their forties and our 6 year old son, are setting up an organic lavender and herb farm, as well as our permaculture garden and food forest.
    We now have a dog, five cats, 20 chicken, three goats, five sheep and three rabbits.
    Our farm has 5 hectares, we will be renting another one or two hectares. Our farm is located in central Slovakia, the nearest village is called Detvianska Huta.

    I am Austrian, my wife is Slovakian. We can communicate in German, Slovakian, English, Polish, Russian, Czech, and a little French. Our area is quite remote, the closest bus stop is 4 km away. We are also at quite a high altitude, 900m above the sea on a hilltop with lots of beautiful views.
    Even in July, temperatures never rise over 27°C during the day. It is a very sunny place surrounded by meadows, fields, and forests. Nature around us is stunning, the wildlife plentiful and around us grow many medical and culinary wild herbs.

    Be aware, it is a pretty remote area, no bars, discos or shops beside a tiny grocer in the village. A great place to unwind and find peace.
    The area is great for hiking, cycling, mushroom hunting, and wildlife observation. Also horse riding is available nearby.

    Some of the projects you can join us this year:
    • Expanding the fruit forest
    • Constructing a greenhouse
    • Setting up beehives (honey cow)
    • Turning more overgrown land into useable land
    • Creating a pond
    • Finishing the reconstruction of our barn (part summer kitchen, part storage/herb dryer, part workshop, part sleeping place)
    • Planting organic herb crops- chamomile, marigold, malvae, more lavender (we planted 1000 specimen last autumn, now have 3000)
    • Creating garden paths, garden walls
    • Creating a gravel road
    • Building a new barn for the animals
    • Planting trees for Agroforestry
    • Learn to harvest and dry herbs, make lotions, tinctures, oils, syrups, teas, soaps and so on
    • Learn to milk goats and sheep and make cheese

    Aside from that, there is the typical farm work- weeding(lots), mucking out the pens, making hay, moving animal enclosures...
    Who we are looking for? Singles or couples who are reliable, friendly and uncomplicated as we are. You have to be over 18!

    If you are fine with manual work and would like to experience a farm coming to life, this might be something for you. We would like your help for about 5 hours per day.

    Best would be if you can stay two weeks or more, up to three months between March and October. We can arrange the days off as it suits you.

    We can pick you up either at the closest local bus (Detva or Hrinova) or train station(Krivan), or we can collect you in Banska Bystrica, if you have troubles finding more local transport.
    We provide three meals a day, at least one warm. We expect you tidy up behind you. Our guestroom has room for two people.
    You can also camp on our property, if you prefer. Even though we are remote, we provide free WiFi.

    As we do not drink or consume any drugs, we would like to meet people of a similar mind-set. If you smoke, that is ok as long as you don’t do it indoors.

    We are willing to share everything we know and would be happy to learn anything you can teach us. We are looking forward to hear from you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We offer many languages, cook quite international, and like to share stories from our time abroad. Also, we can share our knowledge about green living, building an eco house, and farm work.

  • Help

    Help

    It is all about getting our farm running. It was dormant and in a bad state for many many years till we bought it. So you join us in being pioneers. We need people who have some skill in woodworking, gardening, animal care, composting, weeding, and so on. Some strong hands and an open mind are most important.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Czech: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent
    Slovak: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can offer accomodation in our guestroom (shared), in our barn (separate living quarters there, shared), or you can camp/bring your own accomodation. We like to eat our meals together, help in making food and doing the dishes is welcome. We are non-vegetarians, but have no problems cooking vegetarian for you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live rural, away from any big city, quite far away. This is a great place for finding peace, meditating, cycling, jogging, hiking, wildlife observation, horse riding. Unwinding from stress. A few kilometers away are some nice waterfalls and climbing rocks.
    What we expect from our visitors? An open mind, willing hands and a friendly personality. Please be advised drugs are an absolute no-go for us. Smoking is ok, as long as it is outdoors and cigarette buds disposed in the trash and not the garden.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 935324723969